command line creates no screenshots on error

Bug reports.
mats
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 12:58 pm

command line creates no screenshots on error

Post by mats » Tue Feb 28, 2012 4:54 pm

If the Ranorex Test ist started with command line for every module, no screenshots are created if a failure occured.
Start with /testsuite works as expected.

This problem occurs with Ranorex 3.1.x and 3.2.1. With 3.2.x additional the verification won't work (hint: in the VIP example are no verifications).

Example bat: (has to be in the same folder as VIPTestSuite.exe)

Code: Select all

set TestToolPath=VIPTestSuite.exe
REM %TestToolPath% /testsuite /reportfile:log1.rxlog
%TestToolPath% /module:StartSystemUnderTest /reportfile:log2.rxlog
%TestToolPath% /module:AddVIP /reportfile:log3.rxlog
%TestToolPath% /module:IterateTable /reportfile:log4.rxlog
To force a failure I killed VipApplication.exe

Workaround: If the TestSuite contains a testcase for each module, screenshots are created as expected
-> is this really the only solution?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: command line creates no screenshots on error

Post by Support Team » Thu Mar 01, 2012 4:41 pm

Hi,

when starting a single module another kind of reporting will be triggered as starting a test case, test suite or run configuration.
If you'd like to have screen shots within your reporting you can manually add screen shots by using the Report.Screenshot method or start a test case holding the module.

Regards,
Tobias
Ranorex Team
.
Image

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: command line creates no screenshots on error

Post by Support Team » Tue Mar 06, 2012 1:38 pm

I have added this as a feature request for version 3.3 :D

Michael
Ranorex Team
.
Image