Command Line errors

Ask general questions here.
manalitatke
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 3:24 pm

Command Line errors

Post by manalitatke » Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:43 pm

Hello,

https://www.ranorex.com/forum/implement ... 11665.html

W.R.T this post, i was initially trying to implement my TestSolution using Jenkins and getting the error.

However, i tried using the command line for compiling my test solution and i get the same error.

this happened after i updated my Ranorex version to 8.0.

My Microsoft.NET framework version is v4.0.30319 for using the MSBuild.exe

however, my ranorex test solution and libraries are being built under Microsoft.NET framework version v3.5.

So, whenever i try to implement by solution as mentioned in the command line, my test gives me 'Missing assembly error'.

How do i resolve the conflict for differencer in Microsoft Framework version for MSBuild.exe for compiling my solution and csproj file?

Note: I did not get this error in Ranoreex 7.2.1.

How do i resolve the libraries framework version error??


Please let me know,

Thanks
Attachments
Build error for missing assembly.PNG
Build error for missing assembly.PNG (51.64 KiB) Viewed 310 times
missing assembly error.PNG
missing assembly error.PNG (87.91 KiB) Viewed 310 times
Path for MSBuild using command line.PNG
Path for MSBuild using command line.PNG (3.58 KiB) Viewed 310 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3922
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Command Line errors

Post by odklizec » Tue Dec 19, 2017 12:48 pm

Hi,

Code: Select all

My Microsoft.NET framework version is v4.0.30319 for using the MSBuild.exe
I'm afraid, Ranorex 8.0 requires .Net framework version 4.5.2 or higher! It's mentioned in Ranorex 8.0 release notes. So you will either have to update .Net framework on building machine or you will have to stay with 7.2.1.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

manalitatke
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 3:24 pm

Re: Command Line errors

Post by manalitatke » Tue Dec 19, 2017 11:08 pm

Hello,

Thanks a lot for the response.

Yes, the issue was with the.NET framework.

I re-installed 7.2.1 and am able to build and compile successfully using command line.
I believe, Ranorex 8.0 does not support .NET Framework versions of less than 4.5.

The assembly and libraries are able to be located and referenced to.


Thanks again.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3922
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Command Line errors

Post by odklizec » Wed Dec 20, 2017 8:28 am

manalitatke wrote:Hello,
I believe, Ranorex 8.0 does not support .NET Framework versions of less than 4.5.
Yes, this is what I pointed out and what's mentioned in Ranorex 8.0 release notes. .Net Framework 4.5.2 is the lowest supported version now (hence bye bye Windows XP ;)).
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration