Conditional execution of recorded steps

Ask general questions here.
Christoph
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 6:22 am
Location: Liechtenstein

Conditional execution of recorded steps

Post by Christoph » Fri Jul 13, 2012 7:49 am

Hi,

Is it possible, and if yes, how, to only execute recordes steps depending on a condition in one of the steps? I know I can convert the steps into a single user code and then handle everything there with code. But with this approach I loose the easy recorder interface to add, delete, reorder actions. I think it is easier to understand what'g going on when looking at the steps in the recorder than reading code.

This is the scenario:
- Take elements from the repository and create a recording (or take an actual recording and clean it up)
- In one of the steps I'd like to check a condition and if not met skip the remaining steps in the recording.

Christoph

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Conditional execution of recorded steps

Post by Support Team » Fri Jul 13, 2012 2:48 pm

Hello Christoph,

You can try to use the Error behavior setting 'Continue with parent' to skip the actual test case if a failure occurs. The test will then continue with the next test case. Unfortunately you can only realize conditions in the UserCode.

Regards,
Bernhard
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image