Conflict between Spy and application

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
bonniehwang
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 12:15 am

Conflict between Spy and application

Post by bonniehwang » Tue Jun 11, 2013 3:54 am

Hi Support,

The element can't be found and then I use Spy, the application looks strange seeing attached picture 2.png, it is supposed to be like 1.png. Therefore, I can't find the element by using SPY and especially for some buttons overlapped really hard to identify.

And worst still, I can only force close the application so as to go back to appropriate view.
How to fix this issue?

Another question: since many elements need to use SPY to correct the xPath, I wonder is there any shortcut for the similar elements to be changed in batch? such as

lots of buttons can't be recognized by accessiblename and text, i have to remove this manually. is it possible to remove accessiblename and text for all the buttons in stead of doing one by one?

Thanks
Bonnie
Attachments
1.png
1.png
1.png (17.99 KiB) Viewed 997 times
2.png
2.png
2.png (11.69 KiB) Viewed 997 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Conflict between Spy and application

Post by Support Team » Tue Jun 11, 2013 12:51 pm

Hi Bonnie,

The effect you describe might be caused by the "Ensure Visible" functionality from Ranorex.
This functionality tries to bring elements to the foreground, that they can be tracked properly. As your application seems to merely hide the other items, Ranorex is still able to bring the buttons to the front. Those buttons are then visible and create the strange view, that you have posted.

You could try to turn off the "Ensure Visible" default functionality within the Spy. Therefore, please have a look at the following website:
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... tings.html

Furthermore it is also possible to turn the "Ensure Visible" functionality off individually for every repository item within its properties.

A small hint: Right-click one of the buttons in the Spy and have a look at "Dynamic Actions". If those actions are available, you can make the respective button visible or invisible again by selecting "Show" or "Hide".

Concerning your question to ignore "accessiblename and text" for buttons:
This can be done by adjusting the path weights from Ranorex.
Please have a look at the following blog posting:
http://www.ranorex.com/blog/automated-t ... ynamic-ids

Although this blog is about dynamic IDs, setting the weights for the accessiblename of your buttons is done in the same way.

Best regards,
Christian
.
Image

bonniehwang
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 12:15 am

Re: Conflict between Spy and application

Post by bonniehwang » Tue Jun 11, 2013 10:17 pm

Hi Christian,

The first solution doesn't work when using SPY.

The second question I am asking how to change element in batch rather than edit one by one.
I can't find anything interesting from the blog of Dynamic IDs. Could you please help identify?


Br,
Bonnie

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Conflict between Spy and application

Post by Support Team » Tue Jun 18, 2013 9:14 am

Hi Bonnie,

As already discussed, we will have a closer look on the underlying problem why the first solution is not working.

Concerning your question, how to modify elements in batch:
This depends what you want to modify.
If it would be merely the "Ensure Visible" functionality, you can select all elements in your repository via, e.g., "Ctrl+a" and modify their properties. For sure you can also select individual ones previously and the modify their properties.

I hope this answers your question.

Best,
Christian
.
Image