Continue with sibling does not work

Best practices, code snippets for common functionality, examples, and guidelines.
Sajczi
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 8:24 am

Continue with sibling does not work

Post by Sajczi » Fri Feb 05, 2016 10:28 am

Hi,
I have my Ranorex project. I copied it to another folder, changed paths, changed some things in recordings. I have two test cases. I deleted the second one, copied and pasted the first one (so the 2nd test case was updated). I set 'error behavior' property for 'Continue with sibling', but when I run test suite and the first test case fails, the second does not start.
In my first project it did work properly. Could You tell me if there are some more things that I have to set in such situation?

Best regards

gowthamp
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 7:19 pm

Re: Continue with sibling does not work

Post by gowthamp » Fri Feb 05, 2016 7:40 pm

I think you nested another test case as Child test case. To continue with Sibling option you need both under single test case.
Have a look at attachment which gives clear idea.
Attachments
continue-with-sibling.png
continue-with-sibling.png (24.46 KiB) Viewed 776 times

Sajczi
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 8:24 am

Re: Continue with sibling does not work

Post by Sajczi » Mon Feb 08, 2016 11:27 am

In my test suite it looks like this:
Image

If TestCase fails, I want TestCase1 to start. Otherwise it should not start.
I believe continue with siblings should work when they are nested like that?

EDIT: TestCase1 has checkbox set to 0, because otherwise it would always run, even if there were no error.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Continue with sibling does not work

Post by odklizec » Mon Feb 08, 2016 11:52 am

Hi,

What you want is not doable without custom code. Check my post here...
http://www.ranorex.com/forum/how-to-ski ... tml#p35092

It's exactly what you want, you just need to replace 'false' with 'true'. Hope this helps?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Sajczi
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 8:24 am

Re: Continue with sibling does not work

Post by Sajczi » Mon Feb 08, 2016 2:06 pm

This is exactly what I needed, thanks a lot!