Controlling which test cases/suit runs at startup

Ask general questions here.
simmisj
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:12 am

Controlling which test cases/suit runs at startup

Post by simmisj » Mon Apr 30, 2018 9:27 am

Hi.
I have a test suit with a bunch of smart folders that contain a bunch of test cases each. I use TeamCity to build and run the test cases on a seperate machine.
I would like to know if there is an easy way to control which test cases run using something else than Ranorex studio and unchecking/checking the boxes. Maybe something like a command line argument perhaps?

Regards
Simmi

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3914
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Controlling which test cases/suit runs at startup

Post by odklizec » Mon Apr 30, 2018 11:58 am

Hi,

In my opinion, using Ranorex "Run configurations" is the best way to handle your problem. You can even create multiple run configurations (e.g. smoke, night, full,...) and then simply switch between them using command line parameters. Another possibility is to call individual test cases, also via command line.

A full list of command line options is available in Ranorex User Guide:
https://www.ranorex.com/help/latest/les ... orexStudio
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

simmisj
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:12 am

Re: Controlling which test cases/suit runs at startup

Post by simmisj » Tue May 01, 2018 10:16 am

Thanks for the reply.
Yes. The run configurations are a great way to do this. Thanks.
The only problem is that the run configuration does not save which modules I have disabled. I have a few modules in the setup which are specific to some smart folders and I would have liked to be able to disable the setups that do not belong to specific smart folders but that is not possible as far as I can tell. Which is ridicilous in my opinion. The run configuration should remember all decissions in a configuration.

User avatar
RobinHood42
Posts: 238
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 3:24 pm

Re: Controlling which test cases/suit runs at startup

Post by RobinHood42 » Thu May 03, 2018 8:07 am

Hi simmisj,
"The run configuration should remember all decissions in a configuration."
If you want to have an improved version of the runconfigs, you could raise a new feature request here: http://uservoice.ranorex.com/forums/150 ... ve-ranorex

Cheers,
Robin