Controlnet11 instead of Control - RanorexSpy

Ask general questions here.
ayman
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 5:29 pm

Controlnet11 instead of Control - RanorexSpy

Post by ayman » Tue Jun 04, 2013 6:26 pm

Hello,
I just ran into a strange problem recently. We are using Ranorex 3.2.1.
Our test scripts have to run in 3 OS's: Win7-64 bit, Win7-32 bit and XP.
For sometime that was not a problem until I set up ranorex on newly imaged machines, with the 3 OS's mentioned above.
My question is that when I use the spy on our AUT, in the "Detail" tab, I expect to get a Control category with the following properties under it:
ControlName, ControlText, ControlType, etc ...

which I am getting in Win7-64bit, but not on Win7-32bit and XP. Instead I am seeing ControlNet11 with only ControlName under it.

I am not sure if this is due to a windows update or some other setting, but I really require your help in figuring this out, as most of our RxPaths depend on this property.

Thanks in advance

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Controlnet11 instead of Control - RanorexSpy

Post by Support Team » Wed Jun 05, 2013 1:19 pm

Hello,

It looks as if some .NET WinForms controls cannot correctly be recognized on the two machines. There are a few scenarios where this can happen:
• The automating process (Ranorex executable) and the automated application (AUT) are not started with the same security rights, i.e. not as the same Windows user. Try starting both applications as the same user.
• Either the automating executable or the AUT are started from a network drive or encrypted folder and consequently do not have the required security rights. Try copying both applications to a folder on your hard disk.
• The controls that cannot be identified are implemented in a mixed-mode EXE file (not DLL). This can be the case with some obfuscating applications or assembly merging utilities that create mixed-mode EXE files. The .NET Framework does not support loading such mixed-mode executables in other processes, that's why Ranorex cannot recognize controls implemented within them. As a workaround, you can try to automate the non-obfuscated version of your application.
• The .Net 4.0 extended version is not installed on the machines. Install the extended version of the .Net 4.0 framework and reinstall Ranorex with the setup.exe or with the Ranorex-X.exe file.

For more information please take a look at the following link: .NET WinForms.

Regards,
Markus
.
Image

ayman
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: Controlnet11 instead of Control - RanorexSpy

Post by ayman » Wed Jun 05, 2013 9:24 pm

Thanks very much for the informative reply. In my case, the last step fixed my problem, I needed a complete re-installation of Ranorex.

Thanks again
Ayman