Copying Test Suites

Ask general questions here.
tallahassee101
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 2:06 pm

Copying Test Suites

Post by tallahassee101 » Tue May 08, 2012 8:11 pm

Hi,

I have a very large test suite that I am trying to split into multiple suites. I copied the rxtst file and put the copies into two separate projects. Now everytime I do a rebuild all the variables become unbound. I believe this probably has something to do with the ids not being regenerated, or maybe when they get reassigned they lose the bindings? Some help or a better explanation on how to do this would be helpful.

I have about 150 tests in a single test suite with over 800 bindings. I want to split them into 2 test suites each with about 75 tests.

Thanks

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Copying Test Suites

Post by Support Team » Thu May 10, 2012 11:50 am

Hi,

How did you copy the test suite file?
Did you get any error messages or warnings?
I would suggest organizing your project as described at the following blog.
Sometimes it is faster to create a new structure than to manipulate the existing one.

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

tallahassee101
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 2:06 pm

Re: Copying Test Suites

Post by tallahassee101 » Thu May 10, 2012 3:21 pm

Markus,

Thanks, after a lot more work and trial and error I came to the same conclusion. That it's easier to create a new suite and copy/move tests from the old larger one.

Thanks,
-Nick