count of elements from RXPath

Class library usage, coding and language questions.
pvikramsharma

count of elements from RXPath

Post by pvikramsharma » Wed Aug 27, 2014 10:57 am

Hi,

My RX path returns me 2 elements using Ranorex Spy and I want to get the same count in user code by writing the code. How do I get the count using C#

Ranorex path is /dom[@domain='bigbasket.com']//div[#'uiv2-slideshow']/ul/li.

Let me know if the question is not clear.

THanks,
Vikram

krstcs

Re: count of elements from RXPath

Post by krstcs » Wed Aug 27, 2014 2:41 pm

Code: Select all

UlTag ul = "/dom[@domain='bigbasket.com']//div[#'uiv2-slideshow']/ul";

List<LiTag> liList = ul.Find<LiTag>("li");

int count = liList.Count;
Shortcuts usually aren't...

pvikramsharma

Post by pvikramsharma » Wed Aug 27, 2014 3:02 pm

Ranorex Guru, thanks a lot for the solution and it worked as expected but had to change to IList instead of List as it was showing me some compiler error.

I am new to this tool and also for the coding and hence trying to figure out so many things.

krstcs

Post by krstcs » Wed Aug 27, 2014 3:42 pm

AH :D

Yeah, I mistyped it, was supposed to be an iList<T>. Sorry about that!

Welcome to Ranorex!

A couple of suggestions for you:

1. You are developing software so, as with any software development process, use a code version control system, like SVN or Git (what I use). Make branches to work in and stick with it.

2. As with 1, you are developing software, so keep it simple. Too much complexity causes issues and can make it harder for others to know what is going on. Ultimately you want to make it so that anyone can create tests.