Create a new SimpleDataTable at Runtime

Best practices, code snippets for common functionality, examples, and guidelines.
SyG
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 8:45 pm

Create a new SimpleDataTable at Runtime

Post by SyG » Wed Apr 13, 2016 9:01 pm

Hi,

Is there a way to create SimpleDataTable at runtime in VB or/and read and write from it.

All the examples i found was in C#

Thank you

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3922
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Create a new SimpleDataTable at Runtime

Post by odklizec » Thu Apr 14, 2016 11:47 am

Hi,

Are you aware that there is an option in Ranorex to convert C# code to VB code (and vice versa)? You can find it under menu Tools >> Convert Code To menu.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Create a new SimpleDataTable at Runtime

Post by krstcs » Thu Apr 14, 2016 3:27 pm

When you say "SimpleDataTable" are you talking about the Ranorex Data Connector type?

If so, why are you creating it at runtime?

Also, if you really need to dynamically create data sets at runtime, you should use a database, as SimpleDataTables, Excel, and CSV are all pretty static (and it is better to leave them that way).
Shortcuts usually aren't...