Cross Browser Sample

Class library usage, coding and language questions.
ggaspari
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 8:40 am

Cross Browser Sample

Post by ggaspari » Mon May 21, 2012 2:44 pm

Hi guys,
I need a sample on how to run my test with multiple browsers.
I'm not using the recording (just code) so if there is some sample would be great

thanx

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Cross Browser Sample

Post by Support Team » Tue May 22, 2012 8:48 am

Hi,

Please take a look at our blog about "Cross-Browser Test Automation", there the most important points about cross browser testing will be explained.

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

ggaspari
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 8:40 am

Re: Cross Browser Sample

Post by ggaspari » Wed May 23, 2012 10:38 pm

Yes, i took a look at the blog and is pretty clear how it works and how to configure it.
But, I'm not using recording at all in my tests so i would like to know if is possible and how to make these iteration only by using code

thanx

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Cross Browser Sample

Post by Support Team » Thu May 24, 2012 3:36 pm

Hi,

Yes, it is possible.
There are not really much differences, you can also use module variables and you can also bind them to browser specific values.
Are you using the repository within your UserCode modules?
how to make these iteration only by using code
Maybe you can describe which iterations you mean?

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

ggaspari
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 8:40 am

Re: Cross Browser Sample

Post by ggaspari » Thu May 24, 2012 7:56 pm

Hi,
No repositories, right now i'm using pure code :-)
Well,I need to test my web application in different browsers (which is very common stuff)
So, i want to run all my tests starting with IE, then FF and so on . I'm just wondering if i need to make some kind of loop with all my browsers or maybe there is some other way :

thank you guys

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Cross Browser Sample

Post by Support Team » Fri May 25, 2012 4:04 pm

Hi,

if you only use your code for inserting text to your application and you trigger no interaction with the mouse or the keyboard, you can try to run two or more instances of Ranorex to run the tests with different browsers, but in this case you have to take care about the paths.
We recommend to use the repository and the way avowed in the blog Cross-Browser Test Automation

Kind regards,
Bernhard
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image