csv separator

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
h.ketelaars
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 7:49 am

csv separator

Post by h.ketelaars » Tue May 08, 2012 2:42 pm

Hi,

Is it possible to change the default separator which is used when using het csv file import feature?

I am using this feature as part of the record playback tooling and i am wondering whether it can be changed without any programming action, for instance by changing the default in an XML-file?

Thanks in advance,

Kind Regards,

Hans Ketelaars

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: csv separator

Post by Support Team » Thu May 10, 2012 10:00 am

Hi,

Without any programming you can either use a ";", "," or a Tab as separators.
for instance by changing the default in an XML-file?
What do you mean, do you want to use a XML-file instead of a csv one?

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

h.ketelaars
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 7:49 am

Re: csv separator

Post by h.ketelaars » Fri May 11, 2012 12:27 pm

Support Team wrote:Hi,

Without any programming you can either use a ";", "," or a Tab as separators.
for instance by changing the default in an XML-file?
What do you mean, do you want to use a XML-file instead of a csv one?

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team
I was wondering whether the default seperators (in this case ";", "," or Tab) are stored in a configuration file for Ranorex (for instance an XML-file).
If this is the case i could change the default by changing the content of configuration file.

The reason for asking this question is that in my CSV files "," is part of the input and is now interpreted as seperator which is wrong.

Currently the content of my CSV is something like:

...
FENISTIL
FENISTIL PENCICLOVIR
FENTANYL JANSSEN
FENYLEFRINEHYDROCHLORIDE, MONOFREE
FENYLEFRINEHYDROCHLORIDE, MINIMS
FERINJECT
FERO-GRADUMET
FERRIPROX
FEVARIN
FIBROGAMMIN P
...

Only 1 column but the content can contain ","

Kind Regards,

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: csv separator

Post by Support Team » Mon May 14, 2012 2:49 pm

Hi,

when you embed your commas in double quotes you can use them as value of the CSV file.
E.g. "VALUE,WITH,COMMA1";"VALUE,WITH,COMMA2"

Changing the separators is not possible via a config file.

Regards,
Bernhard
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image