Ctrl - Tab

Bug reports.
Eike
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 9:50 am

Ctrl - Tab

Post by Eike » Wed Jul 10, 2019 9:57 am

Hello,

I'm new to Ranorex and I'm wondering about some things...

First things first: When I press Ctrl - Tab to change between tabs, Ranorex Studio (9.1) sometimes brings up the tab list shortly, but as I'm releasing the keys fast, it doesn't change tabs. I'm pressing Ctrl - Tab to change tabs, so it should just do the default, opening the previously opened window.

Ciao,
Eike

PS: This should be easily reproducible with some UI test automation tool...

McTurtle
Posts: 255
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:37 am
Location: Benedikt, Slovenia

Re: Ctrl - Tab

Post by McTurtle » Fri Jul 12, 2019 12:43 pm

Hello Eike,

I hold down "Ctrl" and then press "Tab" the required number of times to get to the correct tab and then release the "Ctrl" key. I think this is how the tab switching is designed. It works very well. Can you not do like this instead?

Regards,
McTurtle

ahoisl
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 8:16 am

Re: Ctrl - Tab

Post by ahoisl » Tue Jul 16, 2019 8:52 am

Weird enough, as a Ranorex developer I stumbled over this behavior just recently, too. It only happens if you press Ctrl+Tab really quickly, resulting in Ctrl being released before Tab. In other words, if you carefully press the keyboard shortcut, it works, but not if you just press it sloppily.

As all the common tools with tabs usually also handle the "sloppy" shortcut - and I got annoyed by Studio's behavior, too :wink: -, I added code to handle the fast Ctrl+Tab. The fix should be included in the next service/minor release (9.1.1 just got released, so the fix would be in 9.1.2 and 9.2.0).

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team

Eike
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 9:50 am

Re: Ctrl - Tab

Post by Eike » Thu Jul 18, 2019 10:29 am

ahoisl wrote:
Tue Jul 16, 2019 8:52 am
As all the common tools with tabs usually also handle the "sloppy" shortcut - and I got annoyed by Studio's behavior, too :wink: -, I added code to handle the fast Ctrl+Tab. The fix should be included in the next service/minor release (9.1.1 just got released, so the fix would be in 9.1.2 and 9.2.0).
I'm happy you were annoyed! ;)

Thanks!
Eike