Dangers of using an instrumented app in production

Mobile Testing, Android App Testing.
mits
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 9:11 am

Dangers of using an instrumented app in production

Post by mits » Fri Aug 30, 2013 11:49 am

Hi,

I was looking to use Ranorex for testing of an iPad application. This app will not be published to the Apple Store.

For various reasons we will only be able to have one version of this app (there is no test version). This means that if we want to instrument the app, it will also be instrumented in production.

Is this likely to cause any problems in terms of security, performance, et cetera?

Thanks

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Dangers of using an instrumented app in production

Post by Support Team » Tue Sep 03, 2013 2:08 pm

Hello,

Please note that it is NOT recommended at all to use an instrumented app in production!
Your app will be modified during instrumentation in order to use it with our test automation tool.

This could cause issues in terms of security.
It might have effects on the performance as well, since UI operations are executed in the background.
I would highly recommend to have one version for testing and one for production.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

mits
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 9:11 am

Re: Dangers of using an instrumented app in production

Post by mits » Tue Sep 03, 2013 3:56 pm

Hi,

That is the answer that I expected. I guess we will not be able to automate any of our tests this time around then.

Thanks for the update though!