Data Binding in Module Groups

Ask general questions here.
Fergal
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: Co Louth, Ireland
Contact:

Data Binding in Module Groups

Post by Fergal » Thu Sep 29, 2016 11:04 am

Ranorex 6.1.1

With a test suite like the one below:

Parent TC
- Child TC (data driven with a data source)
- - Setup
- - - Setup Module Group (Containing Setup_Module1 and Setup_Module2)
- - Module 1
- - Module 2
- - Tear Down

Setup_Module1 includes variables. However, when Data Binding is opened, those variables are not displayed. How can I data bind those variables?

Thanks!

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3908
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Data Binding in Module Groups

Post by odklizec » Thu Sep 29, 2016 11:29 am

Hi,

You need to create module group variables first, then connect them with variables in recording/code modules inside the group module. After that, you should be able to connect group module variables (and so the recording/code module variables) with the data connector in "Child TC".

Just go to View Module Groups, select the module groups you want to connect and create new group module variables. To make the things easier, use "Auto-Create" and "Auto-Bind" buttons.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Fergal
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: Co Louth, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Data Binding in Module Groups

Post by Fergal » Thu Sep 29, 2016 2:30 pm

Thanks very much odklizec, that has worked perfectly!