Data Binding

Best practices, code snippets for common functionality, examples, and guidelines.
letaoana
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 12:22 pm

Data Binding

Post by letaoana » Thu Aug 18, 2016 10:09 am

How to bind variables programmatically? At times binding is lost in a test suite(s) and one has to bind hundreds and hundreds of variables to each test case manually and this is time consuming and frustrating. The [Auto-Create +Auto-Bind] combination or [Auto-Bind] helps but isn't ideal in such a scenario. :cry:

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3922
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Data Binding

Post by odklizec » Thu Aug 18, 2016 12:10 pm

Hi,

I don't think there is a coded-way to bind the variables. Definitely not a public one?

Anyway, loosing bindings is definitely not an expected behavior. If it happens to you with most recent Ranorex version, it should be investigated by Ranorex folks. So please contact them at [email protected] with as many details as possible (Ranorex version, problematic solution, description of lasts steps before loosing bindings, etc).

Additionally, the easiest way to restore lost bindings is using proper version control system (SVN, TFS, GIT, etc) and restore the solution with latest working version. If you are not using any version control system yet, you should start right away! Creating tests with Ranorex is development like any other and version control system is a MUST HAVE for successful development!
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

letaoana
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 12:22 pm

Re: Data Binding

Post by letaoana » Fri Aug 19, 2016 1:07 pm

I will look into it. Thanks odklizec!