Data Driven Testing

Ask general questions here.
[email protected]
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 3:31 pm

Data Driven Testing

Post by [email protected] » Tue Jun 09, 2020 3:40 pm

I have a recording module (Recording module 1) in a test case and this module is bound to a data source i.e this module uses Data Driven Testing. Withing the same test case i have other recording modules (Recording module 2.....)that are not using Data Driven Testing but are mainly for validating. I would like to run through Recording module one and it completes all the rows of the data source before moving to recording module 2. Currently when i run it, it first runs through row one of recording module 1 then moves to recording module 2.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6036
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Data Driven Testing

Post by odklizec » Wed Jun 10, 2020 6:16 am

Hi,

The solution should be very simple. You just have to create a SmartFolder (with data connector) and add recording1 to this SF and keep recording 2 out of this SF. So now, the test should first loop recording 1 in given SF and only then it should go to recording 2. Hope this helps? ;)
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

[email protected]
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 3:31 pm

Re: Data Driven Testing

Post by [email protected] » Wed Jun 10, 2020 8:24 am

Thank you. It worked