Data Sheet

Ask general questions here.
NewLearner
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 3:32 pm

Data Sheet

Post by NewLearner » Thu May 01, 2014 2:57 pm

Please let me know, is it possible to use each recording module has individual data source?

Which means I have two different recording modules in a test suite, I want two different Excel test data file for individual recording modules, so I want to do data binding for each Excel to individual recording module.

krstcs
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Data Sheet

Post by krstcs » Fri May 02, 2014 1:48 pm

In the test suite, you can add test cases for each of the modules, then bind your data to the test case for the module in need of it.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

NewLearner
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 3:32 pm

Re: Data Sheet

Post by NewLearner » Fri May 02, 2014 2:28 pm

Thank you for your solution..
So can't we bind each excel test data to individual recording modules within a single test case?

krstcs
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Data Sheet

Post by krstcs » Fri May 02, 2014 3:26 pm

No, data sources can only be bound to test cases, not to recording modules. You can do something like this:

-TestSuite
--TestCase1 ==> DataBinding1
---TestModule1
--TestCase2 ==> DataBinding2
---TestModule2


You can even add test cases inside test cases. Just think of the test cases in Ranorex as a FOR-EACH loop. They will run FOR EACH data row in the data connector's data set.

So, you can have, for example:

-TestSuite
--TestCase1 ==> DataBinding1 (so, for each data row in DataBinding1, do everything inside TestCase1)
---TestModule1
---TestCase1.1 ==> DataBinding2 (and, for each data row in DataBinding2, do everything inside TestCase1.1, etc.)
----TestModule2
----TestModule3
----TestCase1.2 ==> DataBinding3
-----TestModule4
--TestCase2 ==> DataBinding4
---TestModule5

If you think of the test cases as for-each loops, it may help you figure out a way to structure your tests the way you want. My test suites are very complex, and actually use MSSQL with dynamic SQL queries at run-time. It is a great exercise in logical thinking. :D
Shortcuts usually aren't...

NewLearner
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 3:32 pm

Re: Data Sheet

Post by NewLearner » Fri May 02, 2014 3:48 pm

Thank you very much...much appreciated

krstcs
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Data Sheet

Post by krstcs » Fri May 02, 2014 3:52 pm

You are welcome! Hope it helps!
Shortcuts usually aren't...