Data Source error

Bug reports.
mattmccall
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:13 pm

Data Source error

Post by mattmccall » Wed Sep 18, 2013 4:24 pm

WHen trying to view a datasource on a .rxtst file it takes a long time to open and then the data rows are not populated in the view. Then when I click on "Manage Data Sources..." a few minutes later I get an error popup (attached). I click ok on the popup and the data sources open. I just moved to a different machine, and I think that may be the problem but I am not sure.

Ranorex version 4.1
machine:
Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard
Service Pack 1
4G of RAM
64-bit OS

Can you shed some light on this?

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Data Source error

Post by krstcs » Wed Sep 18, 2013 4:45 pm

First, could you add the attachment again, it doesn't appear to be linked.

What is the error message? Does it throw an exception or just a "file not found" error? (These may be evident in the attachment.)

Second, what is your datasource (Excel, SQL, Simple, CSV)?

If you are using Excel or SQL, are the correct drivers/software versions installed?

Have you tried uninstalling, rebooting and then re-installing Ranorex?

Do you have the correct .NET Runtime AND SDK installed?
Shortcuts usually aren't...

mattmccall
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:13 pm

Re: Data Source error

Post by mattmccall » Wed Sep 18, 2013 4:57 pm

Sorry, didn't see the message saying the type wasn't supported, its attached now.
Attachments
ranorex error.jpg
ranorex error.jpg (43.67 KiB) Viewed 1252 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Data Source error

Post by Support Team » Thu Sep 19, 2013 3:33 pm

Hello,

Could you please answer all questions?
I suppose you are using an SQL connector. Please check the connection settings to your database. I think that some settings are not correct.

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

mattmccall
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:13 pm

Re: Data Source error

Post by mattmccall » Thu Sep 19, 2013 3:51 pm

Second, what is your datasource (Excel, SQL, Simple, CSV)?
Excel

If you are using Excel or SQL, are the correct drivers/software versions installed?
We are using Office 365

Have you tried uninstalling, rebooting and then re-installing Ranorex?
No I haven't, I will.

Do you have the correct .NET Runtime AND SDK installed?
Yes

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Data Source error

Post by krstcs » Thu Sep 19, 2013 4:16 pm

My understanding is that Office 365 does NOT install the needed EXCEL drivers.

You will need to install those drivers before an EXCEL data source will work.

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download ... x?id=13255

I'm not sure that Ranorex even supports 365 as a data source.

I would highly recommend installing a real MS Office product, not a web-based app, if you want to use EXCEL data sources.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

mattmccall
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:13 pm

Re: Data Source error

Post by mattmccall » Fri Sep 20, 2013 2:15 pm

krstcs,

This helped, thanks a lot!

Believe me it was not my decision to go to 365, and I begged to have something "real" installed on this machine but I could not find a "legit" reason to do so according to the powers that be.

This works for now so I will march forward.

Again, thanks.

Matt

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Data Source error

Post by krstcs » Fri Sep 20, 2013 3:34 pm

Great, I'm glad that helped!

Normally, for business usage, 365 is just fine. Unfortunately, you are not NORMAL business usage. :D Development normally has different requirements in terms of environment and many times non-developer management does not "GET" this fact (and sometimes even "developer" management doesn't either). These drivers may NOT work in all situations though, and this may be the "legit" reason you need to get management to realize the issue.

NOTE: These drivers will need to be install EVERYWHERE you will be running your tests.


Just my 2 cents, but I would recommend looking into MS SQL Server Express (it's free) for your data source instead. A true relational DB is much better at these kinds of things and SSe is fairly light-weight. You can install it on a server that is always on, and just install the SS drivers on the Systems-Under-Test. It will be much more flexible in the long-run, especially for very-large data sets.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

mattmccall
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:13 pm

Re: Data Source error

Post by mattmccall » Fri Sep 20, 2013 4:13 pm

I spoke too soon krstcs, it helped but did not fix everything.

We are too far down the path to switch to MS SQL Server. So for now I will pick up my torch and pitchfork and head back to admin castle and not leave till they give me something other than 365.

Thanks again.

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Data Source error

Post by krstcs » Fri Sep 20, 2013 5:58 pm

Yeah, I was afraid of that.

Good luck!
Shortcuts usually aren't...