devexpresscontrols

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
kushagrajohri
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 6:20 am

devexpresscontrols

Post by kushagrajohri » Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:16 am

hi everybody actually in my application i have used a lot of devexpress controls which are not being recognised properly in the way that they should have been. so is there a way to map these to simple and recognised objects.please help me in this .

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: devexpresscontrols

Post by Support Team » Tue Jun 15, 2010 11:33 am

Hi,

Please can you post some more additional information: Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

kushagrajohri
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 6:20 am

Re: devexpresscontrols

Post by kushagrajohri » Tue Jun 15, 2010 11:40 am

i am using Ranorex 2.3 and dev express version 9.2 . but i cannot send the snapshot as my product has not been released till yet and it will be against my company rules if i give you that sir.

kushagrajohri
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 6:20 am

Re: devexpresscontrols

Post by kushagrajohri » Tue Jun 15, 2010 11:46 am

[img]C:\Documents%20and%20Settings\kushagra.johri\Desktop\snap[/img]

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: devexpresscontrols

Post by Support Team » Tue Jun 15, 2010 12:24 pm

Hi,

Please can you attach the image to your post. If you click post reply or edit, you will find a "Upload attachment" tab below the buttons "Save, Preview, Submit".

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

kushagrajohri
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 6:20 am

Re: devexpresscontrols

Post by kushagrajohri » Tue Jun 15, 2010 12:58 pm

o this is the image of main page
Last edited by kushagrajohri on Tue Jun 15, 2010 2:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: devexpresscontrols

Post by Support Team » Tue Jun 15, 2010 1:34 pm

Hi,

Sorry but with this screen shot we are not able to delimit the problem. I tried the demos on the DevExpress home page and it worked like expected. Also many of our customer use DevExpress controls and they are very pleased with the object recognition of Ranorex. So is it possible to sent us a Ranorex Spy Snapshot to [email protected] or only of that control which is not recognized by Ranorex.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

atom
Posts: 357
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 11:14 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: devexpresscontrols

Post by atom » Tue Jun 15, 2010 6:01 pm

Hiya

Would be nice to know what type of control you are talking about
Is it a grid, a tab, a text box, a button, a property grid, a ribbon bar etc ?

Some controls Ranorex works perfectly, other controls you may have to use the Dev Express API to perform the operation you want to do. So really to answer your question it would be needed to know:

- What type of control
- What operation on that control you want to do

Cheers

kushagrajohri
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 6:20 am

Re: devexpresscontrols

Post by kushagrajohri » Wed Jun 16, 2010 10:36 am

the controls are some inline grid functions some ribbon controls the calendar control(in which the claendar comes when we open the drop down list) and some other. so if you could suggest how to use DevExpress API's then it will be more than good for me to implement these controls.

atom
Posts: 357
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 11:14 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: devexpresscontrols

Post by atom » Wed Jun 16, 2010 10:53 am

For the grid, what operation do you want to perform?
For the calendar, can you not just type the date string into the text box?

kushagrajohri
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 6:20 am

Re: devexpresscontrols

Post by kushagrajohri » Wed Jun 16, 2010 1:52 pm

actually in grids we are using some inline grid functions and in calendar we open a drop down adn then select the date so its not possible to just put up a simple calendar in our application and insert the date into the textbox.please if you all could suggest me something

atom
Posts: 357
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 11:14 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: devexpresscontrols

Post by atom » Wed Jun 16, 2010 5:01 pm

Hiya

For the calendar I havent personally automated this control
But im sure the Dev Express API will have a method to select a specific date
Download their documentation and take a look - its available from their website

As for the grid, what operation does the test need to do?

For using dev express api, we did the following:

1. Created a new dll that references dev express dll's
Inside this dll we place delegate methods that perform a specific operation using the dev express api

2. Created a new dll, that references the above dll
Expose methods that use InvokeRemotely on the methods in above dll

3. Test case .exe references dll from number 2

User avatar
Ciege
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: devexpresscontrols

Post by Ciege » Wed Jun 16, 2010 5:25 pm

For setting the calendar value, see this post: http://www.ranorex.com/forum/select-ite ... t1426.html
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

kushagrajohri
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 6:20 am

Re: devexpresscontrols

Post by kushagrajohri » Thu Jun 17, 2010 6:52 am

ok i will do that and let you know

kushagrajohri
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 6:20 am

Re: devexpresscontrols

Post by kushagrajohri » Tue Jun 22, 2010 6:37 am

i am still not able to implement what you said. you mean to say that i have to create dll's that contain the dev express controls that are not being recognised and then reference them in our test cases what i understood as. so if you just elaborate a bit on your view then it will be helpful