Disable reports entirely

Class library usage, coding and language questions.
Noxxys
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 4:09 pm

Disable reports entirely

Post by Noxxys » Mon Jan 26, 2015 4:36 pm

Hi,

I'm using the Ranorex API in a C# program to click a few things, but I don't want it to generate any report file at all. The reason is that this program will run 24/7 unattended and I don't need the reports, so I don't want the reports to fill the hard drive.

How do I do that?

Thanks

User avatar
Ciege
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Disable reports entirely

Post by Ciege » Tue Jan 27, 2015 6:34 pm

You should be able to set the report level to "None" to disable reporting.

Code: Select all

Ranorex.Core.Reporting.TestReport.Setup(ReportLevel.None, null, false);
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

Noxxys
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 4:09 pm

Re: Disable reports entirely

Post by Noxxys » Wed Jan 28, 2015 5:40 pm

It's working, thanks a lot.

User avatar
Ciege
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Disable reports entirely

Post by Ciege » Wed Jan 28, 2015 5:55 pm

Cool! You're welcome...
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

Remensperger
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 12:16 pm

Re: Disable reports entirely

Post by Remensperger » Mon Oct 05, 2015 12:45 pm

Hi,
in Version 5.4.2 the following command doesn't work:
Ranorex.Core.Reporting.TestReport.Setup(ReportLevel.None, null, false);

There are still log's created.

Where can I totally switch off any log-files? Or can I redirect log's into a Database (MS SQLServer)?

Greetings from Germany

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Disable reports entirely

Post by Support Team » Wed Oct 07, 2015 8:04 am

Hello Remensperger,

Please follow the steps below to disable the report.

1) Open the test suite properties
open_testsuite_properties.png
open_testsuite_properties.png (10.46 KiB) Viewed 1213 times
2) Disable the report and apply the change
disable_report.png
disable_report.png (21.58 KiB) Viewed 1213 times
In order to store Ranorex Reports to a database you could create a custom logger class and attach it to the Ranorex report engine.
For more information on this topic please have a look at the blog post Customizing Ranorex Reports.

More information about reporting in general can be found in the user guide.

Regards,
Johannes
.
Image

User avatar
Aracknid
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 3:23 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Re: Disable reports entirely

Post by Aracknid » Wed Oct 14, 2015 3:30 pm

Try

Ranorex.Report.Setup(ReportLevel.None, null, false);

Aracknid