Disaster reciovery - Licensing issue

Ask general questions here.
christof
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 10:58 am

Disaster reciovery - Licensing issue

Post by christof » Tue Jul 19, 2011 11:48 am

Hi.

I have just been asked by one of my colleagues to examine any implications that might occur should we lose access to the company infrastructure. We currently have three VMs, running Ranorex Studio Premium which are used by our testing team. All node locked licenses.
So the question that therefore comes to mind is that should we need to rebuild these VMs, restore project files from backup and reinstall Ranorex Studio, would we be likely to encounter any licensing issues?
As far as I am aware, the license is locked to the hostname (but this seems a little to simple) so if we recreate these machines with the same hostname would we be ok?
Also, would switching the licensing to floating licenses provide us with any benefits in this eventuality.

Any help you could please give with the above, that would be appreciated.

Chris.

User avatar
Ciege
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Disaster reciovery - Licensing issue

Post by Ciege » Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:57 pm

Just rebuilding the machine with the exact same host same should suffice. From your existing working test machine you should open the Ranorex Licensing utility and save a copy of your existing license to a location where you can access it in case of disaster. Then, when you build the new machine with the same host name you can import that license and you should be good to go.
If you are worried about being unable to access the companies infrastructure you may have more issues with a floating license sine your test machine would be unable to access the license server to request a license in this case.
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Disaster reciovery - Licensing issue

Post by Support Team » Wed Jul 20, 2011 9:54 am

christof wrote:As far as I am aware, the license is locked to the hostname (but this seems a little to simple) so if we recreate these machines with the same hostname would we be ok?
Yes, if you create the machines with the same hostname, then you can install your license again without limitations. As Ciege said, you can load a formerly saved license or just use the license key we sent you with your purchase as described in the Ranorex User Guide:
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... html#c2763

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team
.
Image