Does Ranorex support Class Mapping?

Ask general questions here.
gilbar16
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 6:23 pm

Does Ranorex support Class Mapping?

Post by gilbar16 » Fri Mar 27, 2015 5:07 pm

Just wondering if there is some sort of class mapping feature in Ranorex.

For example: In some test tools like SilkTest, a custom object/control that looks like a button can be mapped to a PushButton so that the custom object can inherit all the properties of a PushButton.

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Does Ranorex support Class Mapping?

Post by krstcs » Fri Mar 27, 2015 5:58 pm

In general the Click() function works on any object that Ranorex can identify so you shouldn't need to over-load a class or method.

Is there a specific example (besides Click) that you are concerned about?


One other thing to note is that Ranorex also has methods for direct manipulation (InvokeAction) against an object. There might be an action in that area that you haven't seen. Note that these are direct invokes of events and sometimes do not fire actions as expected because the action is listening for a different event, but it is still handy for some specific issues.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

gilbar16
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 6:23 pm

Re: Does Ranorex support Class Mapping?

Post by gilbar16 » Tue Mar 31, 2015 1:10 am

Yes, the work-around I found to pop up the Date Picker list is with the use of Invoke Action / PerformClick().
The recorded Action Touch / Center does not invoke the Date Picker and other controls that invoke a pop up list at Playback mode. AUT is a hybrid iOS app using a lot of Kendo UI controls.

Another work-around is the use of the Action Mouse / Click but, leaving the Location at Center does not work also. We had to give it the x,y location. It would be nice if there is such Action as TypeKeys or SendKeys. Maybe it will work better than Action: Touch, Touch Type: Touch.

That's a lot of work-around to do using the Invoke Action / PerformClick() so we are hoping a patch/fix will be available soon.

Thanks.
Gilbert

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Does Ranorex support Class Mapping?

Post by Support Team » Wed Apr 01, 2015 8:16 am

Hello gilbar16,

I'm glad that you found a workaround.

In order to raise and discuss feature requests may I ask you to send an email to [email protected]? We want to handle feature request via email in order to avoid misunderstandings.

Thanks,
Robert
.
Image