Does ranorex support windows app with awesomium

Ask general questions here.
bheemuabhigna
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 3:15 pm

Does ranorex support windows app with awesomium

Post by bheemuabhigna » Tue May 03, 2016 1:51 pm

Hi Team,

We have a windows application that needs to be automated.
The application is developed on .net using somium with Google chrome.
When I tried spy objects i got message to install "WPF plugin".
I enabled wpf plugin from Ranorex and tried spying again.
Now I am able to identify windows controls (like close , title,..)
But I am unable to identify application controls (like username,password..)

I get the complete window read as webelement as (system.window.frameworkElement).
Please let me know whether we can automate these kind of applications.

Thanks,
Last edited by bheemuabhigna on Fri May 06, 2016 9:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3921
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Does ranorex support windows app with somium

Post by odklizec » Tue May 03, 2016 2:08 pm

Hi,

I'm afraid, there is not enough info to provide a reasonable answer. Please answer these questions:

Your Ranorex version? (actual is 5.4.6)
Have you tried different (other than default) WPF settings (in Global Settings >> Plugins tab >> WPF section)?
It would be helpful if you post a Ranorex snapshot of the problematic control(s).
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

bheemuabhigna
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 3:15 pm

Re: Does ranorex support windows app with somium

Post by bheemuabhigna » Tue May 03, 2016 4:52 pm

Hi,

We are using Ranorex 5.4.6

I tried with below wpf options with below combinations

Enable wpf debug capacity = true
Realize items in virtualizer container = true
show all elements = true
WPF Legacy/UIA Interaction = WPfpreferred

and

Enable wpf debug capacity = true
Realize items in virtualizer container = false
show all elements = true
WPF Legacy/UIA Interaction = WPfpreferred

and

Enable wpf debug capacity = true
Realize items in virtualizer container = false
show all elements = true
WPF Legacy/UIA Interaction = wpfonly


But no luck
object spy is attched let me know if any more details are required
Attachments
screenshot2.png
screenshot2.png (188.77 KiB) Viewed 1626 times

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Does ranorex support windows app with somium

Post by krstcs » Tue May 03, 2016 5:04 pm

Please post a RANOREX SNAPSHOT. Screenshots are not helpful.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

bheemuabhigna
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 3:15 pm

Re: Does ranorex support windows app with somium

Post by bheemuabhigna » Wed May 04, 2016 1:58 pm

Hi,

sent snapshot in email

Thanks,
Abhigna
Last edited by bheemuabhigna on Thu May 05, 2016 7:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

bheemuabhigna
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 3:15 pm

Re: Does ranorex support windows app with somium

Post by bheemuabhigna » Thu May 05, 2016 7:13 am

Hi,

Any update regarding this post.
Let me know whether Ranorex can handle these kind of objects
We need to update client asap.

Thanks,
Abhigna

CookieMonster
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 7:17 pm
Location: CH

Re: Does ranorex support windows app with somium

Post by CookieMonster » Thu May 05, 2016 11:31 am

Hi,

Did you activate the Ranorex Plugin in your embedded Chrome? Like you activate any plugin in chrome, you should be able to activate the Ranorex Plugin.

Btw: what is somium? :roll:

Regards
Dan

bheemuabhigna
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 3:15 pm

Re: Does ranorex support windows app with somium

Post by bheemuabhigna » Thu May 05, 2016 3:41 pm

Hi,

what does embedded chrome mean.You mean in chrome browser.
This is windows application. Do you mean that activating plugin in chrome browser will effect the windows application.

Thanks,
Abhigna

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Does ranorex support windows app with somium

Post by krstcs » Thu May 05, 2016 5:03 pm

Embedded browsers are not always going to be supported by Ranorex. It depends on how it is done. Most embedded browsers do NOT load plugins, such as the Ranorex Chrome plugin, which is required for Ranorex to identify and manipulate web elements inside the browser portion of the application.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

bheemuabhigna
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 3:15 pm

Re: Does ranorex support windows app with somium

Post by bheemuabhigna » Thu May 05, 2016 5:18 pm

Does this confirm that Ranorex will not work for our application.
Can I inform the same to our client or can we try with any other ways

Thanks,
Abhigna

bheemuabhigna
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 3:15 pm

Re: Does ranorex support windows app with somium

Post by bheemuabhigna » Fri May 06, 2016 8:39 am

Hi,

We spoke with our developers and below are the technologies used in our app

• awesomium web control v1.7.5.1
• chrome 18.x
• WPF

Let me know whether Ranorex can help us in automating application.

Thanks,
Abhigna

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Does ranorex support windows app with awesomium

Post by Support Team » Tue May 10, 2016 11:52 am

Hello Abhigna,

We replied to your email on the 6th of May. If you didn't receive our email, please contact [email protected].

I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Johannes
.
Image