Doesn't release license after playing tests in Visual Studio

Ask general questions here.
valentin
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 2:47 pm
Location: Moscow

Doesn't release license after playing tests in Visual Studio

Post by valentin » Thu Jul 19, 2012 1:41 pm

Hi,
There are some problems with licensing.
I use ranorex integrated with VS2010. When I play tests from VS, I see (in license server tool) that 1 license is leased. But when tests are ending license doesn't released.

Close solution doesn't help to released license.
I have Floating Premium license.
Last edited by valentin on Thu Jul 19, 2012 1:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Doesn't release license after playing tests in Visual Studio

Post by Support Team » Thu Jul 19, 2012 1:50 pm

Hi,

Which Ranorex/Ranorex license server version are you using?
Did you get an error/exception or did you manually kill the process?

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

valentin
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 2:47 pm
Location: Moscow

Re: Doesn't release license after playing tests in Visual Studio

Post by valentin » Thu Jul 19, 2012 1:58 pm

1) I'm using Ranorex Studio and License server version 3.3
2) manually kill the process. Closing VS solve problem.
Last edited by valentin on Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

valentin
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 2:47 pm
Location: Moscow

Re: Doesn't release license after playing tests in Visual Studio

Post by valentin » Thu Jul 19, 2012 3:06 pm

The same problem when play test from MTM (microsoft test manager). I play test from MTM with Desctop Client Environment.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Doesn't release license after playing tests in Visual Studio

Post by Support Team » Fri Jul 20, 2012 12:58 pm

Hi,

as long as a Ranorex process is being executed your floating Ranorex license will not be released.
So, once all Ranorex assemblies are unloaded, the license will be released.

So basically this should not be an issue as long as you do not have a process which always has Ranorex loaded.

Regards
Tobias
Ranorex Team
.
Image

valentin
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 2:47 pm
Location: Moscow

Re: Doesn't release license after playing tests in Visual Studio

Post by valentin » Wed Jul 25, 2012 8:13 am

But, if use MTM (with Test Agent and Test Controller) for run tests QTAgent.exe process doesn't unload Ranorex assemblies after execution. Therefore after each execuition, I need every time stop service QTAgentProcessUI and then restart it. Is there a way to solve this problem?

The same if use Visual Studio. Process devenv.exe doesn't unload assemblies after build. Only kill process solve problem.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Doesn't release license after playing tests in Visual Studio

Post by Support Team » Wed Jul 25, 2012 12:35 pm

Hi,

we were able to reproduce this issue and are going to analyze it in detail.
We will inform you about our progress.

Regards,
Tobias
Ranorex Team
.
Image

KapacRus
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 8:51 am
Location: Russia, Samara

Re: Doesn't release license after playing tests in Visual Studio

Post by KapacRus » Wed Aug 22, 2012 1:15 pm

For my self I solved this problem by execute bat script after test
tasklist | findstr QTAgent32.exe
if "%errorlevel%" == "0" (taskkill /f /im QTAgent32.exe)

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Doesn't release license after playing tests in Visual Studio

Post by Support Team » Wed Aug 22, 2012 1:26 pm

Hi,

basically the mentioned problem should be fixed with our next release v3.3.2 which will be available for download soon.

Regards,
Tobias
Ranorex Team
.
Image