Draw selection box.

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
mghali
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2014 9:05 pm

Draw selection box.

Post by mghali » Mon Jul 20, 2015 8:55 pm

Hello Every one,

How can you draw a selection box using automation, using code or recorder. Because when I record, it records like I did, but does not play back the same way.

Can anyone help?

Thank you!

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: App get crashed while tap on element in iOS Instrumented app

Post by odklizec » Mon Jul 20, 2015 9:17 pm

Hi,

I'm afraid, I'm not sure what exactly you want to do? What you mean by "drawing a selection box"? Could you be more specific (some screenshots with explanation would be nice). Also, what version of Ranorex do you use?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

mghali
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2014 9:05 pm

Re: Draw selection box.

Post by mghali » Mon Jul 20, 2015 10:18 pm

I use the 5.4 verison of Ranorex

I am sorry. I don't know how to explain it. I will try explain the function.

On the desktop of windows, when you click and drag, you create a selection box, selecting the elements that fall within the boundaries of the box of broken lines that appears momentarily.

I am trying to find a way that the mouse does the functions: clicks, drags and drops the click while selecting elements that fall within the space where the mouse clicks to where it drops the click.

Hope this makes sense.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Draw selection box.

Post by odklizec » Tue Jul 21, 2015 6:57 am

Hi,

I now understand. This kind of actions are better to add manually than recording them. Basically, it's nothing else than Mouse Down -> Mouse Move -> Mouse Up sequence. These actions can be added manually via combo "Add New Action" available in recording module.

If you insist on recording such actions, you may need to press "M" button at start of recording/just before you start dragging mouse. "M" button is a shortcut to enable recording of mouse movements (check the list of available recording shortcuts >here<).
Additionally, you may need to increase timing of mouse related action in General Settings >> Recorder Defaults tab, namely Mouse Move and Mouse Pointer actions. But at first, try it with default values.
Hope this helps?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

mghali
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2014 9:05 pm

Re: Draw selection box.

Post by mghali » Tue Jul 21, 2015 4:21 pm

Thank you!
Enabling the hotkey worked better than adding the actions.