Dual Boot License

Ask general questions here.
atom
Posts: 357
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 11:14 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Dual Boot License

Post by atom » Wed Feb 17, 2010 2:28 pm

Hiya

All our "developer" ranorex licenses are currently installed on Windows XP PC's
Our company is moving to Windows 7, and making all PC's dual boot XP/Windows 7

My question is then, if we install ranorex license on the Windows 7 OS instance, does it count as the same
license as the XP instance?

Thanks

User avatar
Ciege
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Dual Boot License

Post by Ciege » Wed Feb 17, 2010 4:42 pm

I think if you interpret this post about virtual machine licenses a certain way you could make a case for this to be a legitimate use of a license: http://www.ranorex.com/forum/licensing- ... t1044.html

However, you would need to make sure that your Win7 machine and XP machine have the same host name. Which, if they are supposed to live in the same AD branch, may cause issues. If they live in different AD branches you should be fine. You would also need to verify that neither machine would be running simultaneously.

Caveat: the above interpretation of license usage is just a possible suggestion and may not necessarily be valid under Ranorex rules. I suppose we need the support team to make that final determination.
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

atom
Posts: 357
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 11:14 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Dual Boot License

Post by atom » Fri Feb 19, 2010 2:05 pm

Hiya Ranorex

Can i have an "official" answer please

Regards

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Dual Boot License

Post by Support Team » Mon Feb 22, 2010 8:25 am

Hi,

When moving your license simply ensure that the target PC uses the same host name as the old machine.
It should be no problem to move it from a XP to aWin7 system.

kind regards,

Christoph,
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image