Editing while debugging

Ask general questions here.
npanag
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 5:42 pm

Editing while debugging

Post by npanag » Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:35 am

Sorry guys for the primitive question:

Can i edit the code while debugging? I mean not changing the value of a variable through Watch, but changing the code itself, for example adding an if criteria clause in an if statement.

Something like Tools - Options - Edit and Continue - Enable Edit and Continue in Visual Studio

Thank you

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Editing while debugging

Post by odklizec » Thu Dec 08, 2016 12:31 pm

Hi,

I'm afraid, there is no such feature in Ranorex. Ranorex Studio is based on SharpDevelop 4.x and as far as I know, there is no such feature available in this version (not even in SharpDevelop 5.x).
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

hellboy81
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 8:52 pm

Re: Editing while debugging

Post by hellboy81 » Tue Mar 20, 2018 9:16 am

odklizec wrote:Hi,

I'm afraid, there is no such feature in Ranorex. Ranorex Studio is based on SharpDevelop 4.x and as far as I know, there is no such feature available in this version (not even in SharpDevelop 5.x).
Is there possible to use Visual Studio 2017 Edit and Continue feature to debug Rnorex projects?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Editing while debugging

Post by odklizec » Tue Mar 20, 2018 9:51 am

Hi,

Most probably yes? But you should be aware that you will lose some of the Ranorex studio goodies (like repository or test suite management). In other words, you will have to handle UI elements from code.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration