Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Ask general questions here.
vengaishiva
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 4:40 pm

Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Post by vengaishiva » Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:19 pm

Hi,
I am having an application which uses dev express Xtra tree list. I need to expand all the nodes in tree list.
Here is my code

Control tree="rxpath";//Line 1
tree.InvokeRemotely(callexpandall);//Line 2

Exception "The element does not support required capability control" comes in the first line itself.
I have validated the rxpath with spy and it is correct.
I can't extend the treeview control since the application is already built. Also i cant post the screen shot because of security reasons. Expecting your help.
Regards,
Siva R S

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Post by Support Team » Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:31 pm

Hi,

As suggested by Alex yesterday
http://www.ranorex.com/forum/writing-a- ... html#p8461
Please read the documentation links inside this post.

As the exception states "The element does not support required capability control" means "The element does not support required capability control". You cannot Invoke on every control.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team

User avatar
Ciege
Posts: 1336
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Post by Ciege » Tue Apr 19, 2011 3:49 pm

You may not even need to use an Invoke with the Tree List.
We also use Dev Express controls and with the tree list you can expand and collapse the tree using the numpad +, -, *.

+ will expand the selected branch
- will collapse the selected branch
* will expand the selected branch and all children branches

So, if you verify that those keys also work on your Dev Express tree control, all you will need to do is click the root Node (node 0) then use the keyboard input to type a numpad *.
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

vengaishiva
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 4:40 pm

Re: Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Post by vengaishiva » Wed Apr 20, 2011 7:33 am

Hi,
Thanks for your reply. I can expand and collapse the nodes. But my problem is, i want to find a descendant item if the root node is given. Is it possible? Any help regarding this?
Regards,
Siva R S

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Post by Support Team » Wed Apr 20, 2011 7:52 am

Hi,

Therefore please look to following link
http://www.ranorex.com/Documentation/Ra ... endant.htm

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team

vengaishiva
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 4:40 pm

Re: Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Post by vengaishiva » Wed Apr 20, 2011 9:51 am

Hi,
I have tried several possibilities. But what am getting is a tree item, the Text of tree item is 'Node 0'. Am not getting the original text in the tree node.
Also it says that there are no descendants for this tree item ,even though there are descendant items in the application.
I have tried the Find Descendant method but it threw an exception of 'Element not found'. :(
Regards,
Siva R S

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Post by Support Team » Wed Apr 20, 2011 10:27 am

Hi,

Have you analyzed the tree with Ranorex Spy yet?
Please check your tree with Ranorex Spy and check if you have the correct RanoreXPathes in your code or repository.
Even a Ranorex Snapshot would be very helpful to help you with this issue
How to create a Ranorex Snapshot

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team

vengaishiva
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 4:40 pm

Re: Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Post by vengaishiva » Wed Apr 20, 2011 10:57 am

Hi
Thanks for the quick reply. I have analyzed the tree with spy. Here is what i see on spy
-Tree 'treelist1
--+Element 'HeaderPanel'
---Element 'Data Panel'
Now Within Datapanel, there is a TreeItem 'Node 0'.
Within the tree item node 0 , there is nothing. But the application has nodes within it. Also the node's name is not 'Node 0' .
I am using Ranorex 2.3
Thanks,
Siva

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Post by Support Team » Wed Apr 20, 2011 11:50 am

Hi,

Could you please post us a Ranorex Snapshot too?
Create Ranorex Snapshot

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team

vengaishiva
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 4:40 pm

Re: Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Post by vengaishiva » Wed Apr 20, 2011 2:24 pm

I have attached the snapshot. As you can see it contains Tree item node 0 and there are no descendants for it. (the cell is the text of node 0)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Post by Support Team » Wed Apr 20, 2011 2:33 pm

Hi,

According to the screenshot inside the Snapshot, I saw you created your own application with this tree.
Would it be possible to provide us the application too? Because we cannot narrow down the problem with the Ranorex Snapshot.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team

User avatar
Ciege
Posts: 1336
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Post by Ciege » Wed Apr 20, 2011 4:05 pm

vengaishiva wrote:Hi
Thanks for the quick reply. I have analyzed the tree with spy. Here is what i see on spy
-Tree 'treelist1
--+Element 'HeaderPanel'
---Element 'Data Panel'
Now Within Datapanel, there is a TreeItem 'Node 0'.
Within the tree item node 0 , there is nothing. But the application has nodes within it. Also the node's name is not 'Node 0' .
I am using Ranorex 2.3
Thanks,
Siva
When viewing the tree items in Spy, (I.e. TreeItem Node 1) is it grayed out? Are you unable to expand the item in Spy and see the Cells below it? If so, is your tree node visible in your AUT. In our DevExpress tree you cannot access any information from the tree nodes that are not visible on the screen. So we must use the numpad * to expand the tree in the AUT then we are able to access the data from within the nodes. With only Node 0 expanded in the AUT it looks something like this:
Tree 'treeListEx1
-> Container 'Header Panel'
-> Container 'Data Panel'
-> -> Tree Item 'Node 0'
-> -> -> Cell 'Foo'
-> -> -> Cell Bar
-> -> Tree Item 'Node 1'
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

vengaishiva
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 4:40 pm

Re: Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Post by vengaishiva » Thu Apr 21, 2011 7:02 am

Hi Cieg,
Thanks for your reply. I can expand using numpad keys. Is it possible for me to get the original text on the node. Because Ranorex is showing it as node 0.
Regards,
Siva R S

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Post by Support Team » Thu Apr 21, 2011 10:04 am

Hi,

Ranorex shows you the value which is provided by the control.
Could it be that there is an element underlying the tree which represents the text of your tree node?

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team

vengaishiva
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 4:40 pm

Re: Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Post by vengaishiva » Thu Apr 21, 2011 11:17 am

Hi,
As you can see in the snapshot attached by me in this thread, the node contains a cell, but still i can't find the original name of the node. I tried type casting the cell to a text element, but failed. How can i get the original value from the node?
Regards,
Siva R S