Element tree different to old Ranorex

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
jabelshauser
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 12:00 pm

Element tree different to old Ranorex

Post by jabelshauser » Wed Nov 07, 2012 1:04 pm

Some Elements are not available in new Ranorex, there are major differences in the element tree between Ranorex 1.5.3 & Ranorex 3.3.2

Ranorex 1.5.3.6580 Elementsview + succesful FindChild-Method:
Name = Advanced Parameterization, Value = , Role = PageTab
...
Name = Advanced Parameterization, Value = , Role = Window
...
Name = ApplicationState, Value = Running, Role = None
...

RanorexHelper.FindChild((_obj as Control).Element, Role.None, "ApplicationState")

Any Idea ?

Regards Jörg

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Element tree different to old Ranorex

Post by Support Team » Thu Nov 08, 2012 11:48 am

Hello,

Ranorex was redesigned in version 2.0.
A lot of changes have been implemented in later versions in order to meet our customer needs.

Is it possible to recognize these elements by using 'Ranorex Spy'?
Did you get any error messages during your test?

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

jabelshauser
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 12:00 pm

Re: Element tree different to old Ranorex

Post by jabelshauser » Thu Nov 08, 2012 1:05 pm

not, it is not possible, but wasn't possible with old Spy too (but found with the FindChild-method).
The Elements are only accessible via msaa, in msaa explorer the elements occurs
no error messages occurs

Some more Hints:
- .Net 1.1 Control, but runs under .Net 2.0.
- Not possible to get an Accessible instance of the Control
- 'ApplicationState' (the element i am looking for) is implemented as AccessibleObject and is an Sub-Element of a Custom Control

Regards,
Jörg

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Element tree different to old Ranorex

Post by Support Team » Fri Nov 09, 2012 1:55 pm

Hello,

Could you please send us a Snapshot of your application under test?
(Take a look at our section Creating Ranorex Snapshot Files in our User Guide.)

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image