Enable mouse on maintenance mode

Best practices, code snippets for common functionality, examples, and guidelines.
TPeter
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 9:22 am

Enable mouse on maintenance mode

Post by TPeter » Fri Dec 15, 2017 9:29 am

Hello everybody :)

Currently we disable the mouse before we start any test-case to prevent that a user-interaction disturbs our test runs.
This works perfectly.

Now we tried out Ranorex 8.0 and tested the maintenance-mode. But when the "maintenance-mode window" appears we can't interact with it, because our mouse is disabled. Furthermore, we can't abort the test-run. The only way to get our mouse back is to navigate to the task-manager with the keyboard and kill Ranorex.

The easy solution would be to not disable the mouse, but for "normal" non-maintenance-mode test runs, the disabled mouse comes in very handy.

So what we thought about was to detect if the maintenance-mode is activated before we start the test case and depending on that set the mouse automatically to enabled / disabled.

TLDR: Is there a way to get the info (code-wise) if the maintenance-mode is activated or not?

Greetings
TPeter

dpFourOFour
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:24 am

Re: Enable mouse on maintenance mode

Post by dpFourOFour » Fri Dec 15, 2017 11:07 pm

Hi TPeter,

That's an awesome idea. If you don't mind, I "steal" it and create a User Voice for that.
As far as I know, the product management team of Ranorex handles all feature requests using that platform
https://uservoice.ranorex.com/forums/15 ... ve-ranorex

Unfortunately I cannot answer your question about the status of this maintenance-mode, but maybe I can find something when going through the API.
If so, I'll let you know ;)

Best,
DP
Please always include the following information to your posts
  • Ranorex Version
  • OS Version

TPeter
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 9:22 am

Re: Enable mouse on maintenance mode

Post by TPeter » Mon Dec 18, 2017 7:13 am

dpFourOFour wrote:That's an awesome idea.
Thank you :)
dpFourOFour wrote:If you don't mind, I "steal" it and create a User Voice for that.
I don't mind, go ahead :)
dpFourOFour wrote:Unfortunately I cannot answer your question about the status of this maintenance-mode, but maybe I can find something when going through the API. If so, I'll let you know ;)
Cool thanks!

Greetings
TPeter

dpFourOFour
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:24 am

Re: Enable mouse on maintenance mode

Post by dpFourOFour » Mon Dec 18, 2017 3:57 pm

Done,

Please feel free to vote for it

https://uservoice.ranorex.com/forums/15 ... nance-mode

Best,
DP
Please always include the following information to your posts
  • Ranorex Version
  • OS Version