Error during build

Bug reports.
oyvindlu
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 12:36 pm

Error during build

Post by oyvindlu » Tue Sep 11, 2012 12:45 pm

First time user of Ranorex Studio:

Doing a clean first time instalation of 3.3.2.19144 : Every time I'm trying to build from within Ranorex Studio, samples and own solutions, I get the error below :

Code: Select all

The build was aborted because of an internal failure.
System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
   at Microsoft.Build.BuildEngine.Expander.ExpandPropertiesLeaveTypedAndEscaped(String expression, XmlNode expressionNode)
   at Microsoft.Build.BuildEngine.Expander.ExpandAllIntoStringLeaveEscaped(String expression, XmlNode expressionNode)
   at Microsoft.Build.BuildEngine.Target.Build(ProjectBuildState buildContext)
   at Microsoft.Build.BuildEngine.Project.ExecuteNextActionForProjectContext(ProjectBuildState buildContext, Boolean initialCall)
   at Microsoft.Build.BuildEngine.Project.CalculateNextActionForProjectContext(ProjectBuildState buildContext)
   at Microsoft.Build.BuildEngine.Project.ContinueBuild(ProjectBuildState buildContext, TaskExecutionContext taskExecutionContext)
   at Microsoft.Build.BuildEngine.Project.BuildInternal(BuildRequest buildRequest)
   at Microsoft.Build.BuildEngine.Engine.BuildProjectInternalInitial(BuildRequest buildRequest, Project project)
   at Microsoft.Build.BuildEngine.Engine.BuildProjectInternal(BuildRequest buildRequest, ProjectBuildState buildContext, TaskExecutionContext taskExecutionContext, Boolean initialCall)
   at Microsoft.Build.BuildEngine.Engine.EngineBuildLoop(BuildRequest terminatingBuildRequest)
   at Microsoft.Build.BuildEngine.Engine.PostProjectEvaluationRequests(Project project, String[] projectFiles, String[][] targetNames, BuildPropertyGroup[] globalPropertiesPerProject, IDictionary[] targetOutputsPerProject, BuildSettings buildFlags, String[] toolVersions) (MSB4014) - C:\Users\oludvigsen\Documents\Ranorex\RanorexStudio Projects\test3\test3\test3.csproj:1
Can anybody help ?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Error during build

Post by Support Team » Tue Sep 11, 2012 1:07 pm

Hello,

This error was already discussed in the post Problem starting to use Ranorex.
Please read this post, maybe it will help you.

Regards,
Bernhard
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

oyvindlu
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 12:36 pm

Re: Error during build

Post by oyvindlu » Tue Sep 11, 2012 1:41 pm

Hi.

Thank you for passing along the link. By uninstalling code contracts in VS2010 I got rid of the issue. But I still think the bug is in Ranorex studio. If if manually used msbuild from commando prompt the solution build fine but when I tried to build from Studio the error above came.

Anyway. Thanx for fast and great support

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Error during build

Post by Support Team » Thu Sep 13, 2012 10:18 am

Hello,

This issue sometimes occurs if Ranorex and .NET 4.0 Code Contracts are installed on the same machine and will not occur in .NET 4.5. We are looking into this issue, but it is no that easy to overcome this problem.

Regards,
Bernhard
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image