Error 'operation not suppoted' - Set Value on text element

Ranorex Studio, Spy, Recorder, and Driver.
mgpmul

Error 'operation not suppoted' - Set Value on text element

Post by mgpmul » Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:12 pm

I am new to Ranorex and just made my first recording and cleaning it up, that is, remove superfluous mouse movements and use the 'Set Value' operation instead of keyboard sequences.
(I followed the instructions in by Ranorex's screencast "Cleaning Up Recordings")
However, when I run the test case, it fails at the point where the Set Value operation is executed.
The browser elements is a text-element, so I don't see why it shouldn't accept the set value, and, as far as I can see, I followed exactly the same steps as in the screencast.

Ranorex version: 7.2.1
Browser: Firefox, version 57.0.3 32-bit (this is the latest version)
Ranorex add-on for Firefox is enabled: version 1.0.39

ERROR MESSAGE:
Setting attribute 'Text' failed on element '{Text:Consumer key:}'.
The operation is not supported.
The method or operation is not implemented.

STACKTRACE:
at Ranorex.Core.Element.SetAttributeValue(String name, Object value) at Ranorex.Core.Element.SetAttributeValue(String name, String value) at ArrangeMe_Participant.Recording1.Ranorex.Core.Testing.ITestModule.Run() in C:\Users\Miriam.mulders\Documents\Ranorex\RanorexStudio Projects\ArrangeMe_Participant\ArrangeMe_Participant\Recording1.cs:line 95 at Ranorex.Core.Testing.TestModuleLeaf.RunInternal(DataContext parentDataContext, Int32 iteration, Int32 iterationCount, Boolean skipIteration)

How to fix this?

odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru

Re: Error 'operation not suppoted' - Set Value on text element

Post by odklizec » Wed Jan 03, 2018 7:50 pm

Hi,

Please upload a Ranorex snapshot (NOT screenshot) of the problematic element. Without snapshot, it’s hard to tell what’s wrong.