Evaluating Ranorex - Cannot access Dev Express Grid

Ask general questions here.
User avatar
Ciege
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Evaluating Ranorex - Cannot access Dev Express Grid

Post by Ciege » Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:53 pm

Hi, I downloaded RanorexSpy to do a quick evaluation to see if Ranorex can recognize the controls in my AUT. This AUT is .NET (C#) and uses some Dev Express controls.

In the Dev Express Grids I have RanorexSpy cannot see the individual elements that make up the grids.

What do I need to do to extend the recognition of Ranorex so that it can see the individual elements of the grids?

Thanks.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Post by Support Team » Fri Oct 17, 2008 1:20 pm

Hi Ciege,

Normally RanorexSpy is able to recognize rows, columns and cells of a DevExproess data grid control.
Does your application use a DevExpress .NET control?
Could you please tell me what version of RanorexSpy you use? Have you downloaded the current available Ranorex Version 1.5.

regards,

Christoph
Ranorex Support Team

User avatar
Ciege
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Post by Ciege » Fri Oct 17, 2008 5:36 pm

This is a new download and install of RanorexSpy. It is versioned 1.5.0.3140.

The Dev Express data grid being used in the XTraGrid v2 based on the v2 .NET framework. We have plans to go to DevExpress v8 but we are not there yet. The current grid control in use has been customized by our dev team since (at the time of purchase) the v2 grid did not do 100% of what they wanted.

I am new to this company so I am just looking for an automation solution that will work for us here.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

User avatar
Ciege
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Post by Ciege » Fri Oct 17, 2008 5:58 pm

An additional question. What versions of DevExpress XTraGrid do you support?

Also, do you have an example for extracting data from or interacting with a DevExpress XtraGrid that I can try here?

Thanks,
Chris...

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Post by Support Team » Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:33 pm

Hi Chris,

As long DevExpress controls support access through MSAA, Ranorex is able to identify GUI objects from DevExpress. Actually, I've installed a DevExpress demo kit for .NET with version V8.1 and I'm able to get the objects (tables, rows, columns) with Ranorex Spy. So I'm wondering why you're not able to access your grid. I currently don't have an example of how to access the objects of XtraGrid, but I've tried to record some actions on the grid with Ranorex Recorder. The generated code shows the way of how to access object from your XtrGrid control.

best regards,

Christoph
Ranorex Support Team