Excel DataConnector constantly asking to reload workbook

Bug reports.
ArtMed
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 2:20 am

Excel DataConnector constantly asking to reload workbook

Post by ArtMed » Wed Nov 13, 2013 12:16 am

Hi Guys,

Not entirely sure is this is an issue, but I feel it might be related to this issue here: http://www.ranorex.com/forum/post22353. ... cel#p22353.

So for my issue, I just started using Excel files as my data sources and something I notice after I create any Excel DataConnectors and start doing my data binding is that my mouse starts to flash the mouse/hourglass constantly and for most of the time does not go away until I close Ranorex. During that time whenever I bind one of my variables I get a popup saying that my excel sheet was changed and asks if I want to reload the data, which I find strange since I didn't change anything. After I press yes to reload the workbook, either the pop up continues to persists and keeps asking me over and over again or the popup goes away and binds my variable but then the next time I bind something else, the pop up shows up again and I go through that whole process again.

The reason I said that it might be related to the the link above is because after checking my Task Manager and looking at my processes, I see 4 to 5 instances of Excel.exe and they are constantly ending and starting.

Thanks,

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Excel DataConnector constantly asking to reload workbook

Post by Support Team » Thu Nov 14, 2013 5:29 pm

Hello ArtMed,

Your description of your issue looks very similar to the known issue that we had with Ranorex 4.1.1.
Which Ranorex version do you use? Please update to our current release (4.1.2).

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

ArtMed
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 2:20 am

Re: Excel DataConnector constantly asking to reload workbook

Post by ArtMed » Mon Nov 18, 2013 6:32 pm

Hi Markus,

I do have version 4.1.2, and that's where I'm seeing this issue.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Excel DataConnector constantly asking to reload workbook

Post by Support Team » Tue Nov 19, 2013 2:36 pm

Hello ArtMed,

Thanks for your reply.

Would it be possible to send us your Ranorex solution where you experience this issue?
Please describe the steps in detail that you did.
This would help us in analyzing it.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

ArtMed
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 2:20 am

Re: Excel DataConnector constantly asking to reload workbook

Post by ArtMed » Tue Nov 19, 2013 11:19 pm

Hey Markus,

I was able to replicate the issue with your KeePassTest sample solution(had to make some changes), so I'll send you that solution instead.

What I did with your sample solution was deleted the CSV data connector you had and added it as an extra sheet in my excel workbook. The excel workbook I'm sending you has two sheets the first one is for the TC_AddEntry test case and the second sheet is for the NestedTestcase and TC_AddentrywithParams.

The TC_AddEntry test case, I changed it to have a lot more recordings in order to make it similar to my project.

So the steps I did to see the issue is as followed:
1. After opening up the solution for the first time, I go to the test suite, and go to data bindings for NestedTestCase

2. From there I go to data source tab and go to add my excel dataconnector. (I use sheet 2 here)
(Note: at this point my mouse starts to flash the hourglass and if I check the task manager I see 3~5 excel processors starting and closing)

3. I go back to the data bindings tab and press the clear bindings button and then bind each variable to the corresponding value.
(Note: as I'm doing this I'll get a pop up that says: "File:'Excelsheet' has been modified by another program. Do you want to reload" and after pressing yes once the popup will appear again, usually I have to press 2-3 times for it to go away)

4. After doing this for NestedTestCase, I do the same thing (using same data connector) for TC_AddEntryWithParams and once again I'll see the same issues.

5. After that I'll do the same for the TC_AddEntry where I add the excel sheet 1 as a data connector and for this one I press the clear binding and then press the auto bind buttons.

6. I then just unchecked some of the bindings that need to be moved to other values.

At that point the issue varies, sometimes I will get an endless popup of the "File:'Excelsheet' has been modified by another program. Do you want to reload" in which case I'll need to end process to close Ranorex, or I have to press it 5 to 6 times for it to go away, or I'll receive an error that says can not find excel file.

**Edit** I forgot to mention this, but my project(and the excel workbook) is linked to TFS

Thanks for the help,
Attachments
ExcelIssue.zip
File contains the solution and the excel sheet, to make it similar to my project, I keep the excel sheet in a sub-folder in the solution folder
(2.74 MiB) Downloaded 207 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Excel DataConnector constantly asking to reload workbook

Post by Support Team » Thu Nov 21, 2013 4:19 pm

Hello ArtMed,

Unfortunately, I could not reproduce your issue on my system.
Please provide more information about it.

Which Windows version do you use?
Which TFS version do you use?
Are you working remotely?
Do you experience the same issue when you perform your actions without TFS?
Did you copy your Excel file into your project?

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

ArtMed
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 2:20 am

Re: Excel DataConnector constantly asking to reload workbook

Post by ArtMed » Thu Nov 21, 2013 7:05 pm

Hey Markus,

That is strange that you couldn't reproduce the issue, even now with the keePass project I sent you, I can still see the issue.
And in that project I'm running windows 7 64-bit, 4 Gb of ram, and 3.0 Ghz processor.
That keepass project isn't linked in TFS and regardless of whether I choose copy to project checkbox the issue still persists.

As for your questions with regards to my project:
  • 1. As stated above I'm using windows 7 64-bit, 4 Gb of ram, and 3.0 Ghz processor.
    2. The TFS version I'm using is TFS 2012, and yes I have tried without having my project linked with tfs(and when I do that the issue becomes a bit less disrupted in that instead of an endless loop of reload popups I get about 10 to 15 pop ups.)
    3. I am not working remotely
    4. As I stated above regardless of whether I check that copy to to project checkbox I still see the issue.
**Note: Something else I noticed, in some of the runs where the issue is mild (no endless loop of popups) and I'm able to continue to bind variables, after I finish and click okay button and close Ranorex Studio and then check my task manager, I can still see 4~5 excel.exe processors running in the background.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Excel DataConnector constantly asking to reload workbook

Post by Support Team » Fri Nov 22, 2013 3:43 pm

Hello ArtMed,

We have a known issue that could be related with your issue.
Please try to disable 'Detect external changes to files' in the 'Load/Save' options of Ranorex Studio.

Please let me know if you experience any differences after this change.
Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Markus (T)
Attachments
LoadSaveOptions.png
LoadSaveOptions.png (21.85 KiB) Viewed 2063 times
.
Image

ArtMed
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 2:20 am

Re: Excel DataConnector constantly asking to reload workbook

Post by ArtMed » Mon Nov 25, 2013 7:49 pm

Hi Markus,

After trying what you suggested, I still got the issue with my project that was connected to TFS, but I tried it with the same project that wasn't on TFS and the issue was almost completely gone (I only got about 1~2 reload popups).

I'm still getting 4~5 excel processes in the background though.

Thanks,

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Excel DataConnector constantly asking to reload workbook

Post by Support Team » Wed Nov 27, 2013 3:12 pm

Hello ArtMed,

Thank you for your information.
This helped us in order to narrow down the issue.

It might be related with the 'Auto-Save' behavior of Excel.
Do you have your Excel file open during data binding?
If yes, please try to close Excel and verify if no Excel process is running before data binding.

Please note that a separate Excel process will be used for each data connector.
If you only have 2 data connectors, you should have 2 running processes in Task Manager.

I would like to show this issue in a remote session with our developer.
Could you please email us ([email protected]) and let us know when it would be possible?

Thank you.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

sistinus
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 2:51 pm

Re: Excel DataConnector constantly asking to reload workbook

Post by sistinus » Mon Dec 02, 2013 3:21 pm

I'm not sure if this is exactly the same problem you're experiencing, but I've come across an issue with Excel data connectors that may shed some light on your issue. When I do anything that accesses my Excel data connector (run a test case, bind variables, etc) I receive a message saying the file has changed and asks if I would like to save changes. This is an Excel message that I receive, not a Ranorex message. From what I have been able to determine, the reason for the message is because I use formulas in my data connector that do real-time calculations based on time. Since the value is calculated in real-time, Excel sees that as a change and I get the prompt. This is normal behavior for Excel if auto-calculation is enabled.

I've learned to live with the prompts because I need excel to calculate real-time in order to pass correct information to Ranorex. If you don't need your information calculated real-time in Excel you can try switching Workbook Calculation to manual. If manual calculation isn't an option, you could always do your calculations in a code module within Ranorex. Hope this helps.

ArtMed
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 2:20 am

Re: Excel DataConnector constantly asking to reload workbook

Post by ArtMed » Wed Dec 11, 2013 12:13 am

@Sistinus:
Thanks for the reply I tried what you suggested and the problem still persisted.

@Markus:
Yea I make sure I don't have excel running in the background when I try. And sure we can do that. I'll send you an email in a bit.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Excel DataConnector constantly asking to reload workbook

Post by Support Team » Wed Dec 18, 2013 12:55 pm

Hello Artmed,

Unfortunately, we have no idea about the cause of your issue.
The good news is that we will provide a fix in the future that this dialog is only shown if the Excel file is (really) modified based on the 'Modified' date.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

omayer
Posts: 458
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 6:14 pm

Re: Excel DataConnector constantly asking to reload workbook

Post by omayer » Sat Dec 21, 2013 3:39 pm

I am using Ranorex Studion version 4.1.4 having the similar issue, kept xcel popup for save the doc, i am using same excel file on others script using different tab
Thank You,
Omayer
Tipu

MarkusT

Re: Excel DataConnector constantly asking to reload workbook

Post by MarkusT » Fri Jan 03, 2014 10:46 am

Hello,

Thank you for your post.
Unfortunately, this fix has not been released yet.
You could see a list of fixes for 4.1.4 in our Release Notes ('Support > Release Notes')

A fix for this issue should be released in our next major release of Ranorex.
Thank you for your understanding.

Regards,
Markus (T)