Exception when trying to capture an image

Ask general questions here.
jsmith

Exception when trying to capture an image

Post by jsmith » Wed Nov 14, 2018 9:58 am

I have code which should capture a screenshot, either via a repo item, or via screen co-ordinates. I f I pass the method a repository item it will use it.
I am regularly getting an exception "Object Reference Not Set to An Instance of an Object".
I am not a natural coder. I get that something isn't set, but can't figure out what it is, nor how to fix it. Can anyone recreate the error, or better still, offer a solution?
I realise it's a long shot....

Code: Select all

if(repo_used == false)
            					{
            						Bitmap newimg = Imaging.CaptureDesktopImage(new Rectangle(start_x, start_y, width, height));
            						//save screenshot
            						newimg.Save(ref_combo, System.Drawing.Imaging.ImageFormat.Jpeg);

}
            					else
            					{

Ranorex.Unknown itemAdapter = item_in.CreateAdapter<Ranorex.Unknown>(false);
            						Bitmap newimg2 = Ranorex.Imaging.CaptureImage(itemAdapter);

//save screenshot
            						newimg2.Save(ref_combo, System.Drawing.Imaging.ImageFormat.Jpeg);//<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<Object Reference not set to an instance of an object

}

odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru

Re: Exception when trying to capture an image

Post by odklizec » Wed Nov 14, 2018 2:26 pm

Hi,

Does it happen always or it's a random issue? Have you tried to debug the code? My guess is, that there is already something wrong with the itemAdapter or newimage2 definition. Are you sure the itemAdapter and newimg2 are not null/empty?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

jsmith

Post by jsmith » Wed Nov 14, 2018 2:59 pm

Hello again odklizec,