Executing scripts from other tools

Ask general questions here.
Kris002
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2017 5:31 pm

Executing scripts from other tools

Post by Kris002 » Fri Aug 18, 2017 5:37 pm

Hello,

My company has previously developed multiple scripts using the QA Wizard Pro tool.
How can I leverage these scripts to run in Ranorex?

Thank you.

User avatar
RobinHood42
Posts: 239
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 3:24 pm

Re: Executing scripts from other tools

Post by RobinHood42 » Mon Aug 21, 2017 1:30 pm

Hello Kris002,

Unfortunately, I'm not familiar with QA Wizard Pro tool, but there is no official integration/conversion of your old tests available. If the QA Wizard Pro tool generates something like an executable, you maybe could call your old tests as a part of your Ranorex test.

Hope this helps,
Robin

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Executing scripts from other tools

Post by odklizec » Mon Aug 21, 2017 1:37 pm

Hi,

I'm quite sure there is no way to load and run the "QA Wizard Pro" scripts directly from Ranorex. The best you can hope for is executing their exes (if there are any exes), via shellexecute or process.start? But in my opinion, the best way to execute both Ranorex and QA Wizard Pro tests would be to setup a continuous integration server (like Jenkins) and start both tests from there. I personally would abandon the idea of running 3rd party tests from Ranorex test. What would be the benefit of it anyway? Without some additional (possibly hard) work, there is not even chance to display QA Wizard Pro tests results in Ranorex report.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration