Exporting Ranorex results

Ask general questions here.
Kumar
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 12:12 pm

Exporting Ranorex results

Post by Kumar » Mon Aug 06, 2012 7:56 am

Hi,

We are using Ranorex for automating test scenarios in a validated project. It's is mandatory that we should have the screenshots of the evidence captured in either a Word or PDF format.

The report that is available with Ranorex is very good, but we are not able to open it in system where Ranorex is not installed.

Is there any option to export the result to a PDF or any way that the results can be exported to either word or PDF?

Thanks,
Kumar

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Exporting Ranorex results

Post by Support Team » Mon Aug 06, 2012 12:59 pm

Hello Kumar,

There are two simple methods to view the Report without a Ranorex installation.

You can open the Report in Internet Explorer. To do so you have to change the extension of the log file form .RXLOG to .XML. It is necessary that all snapshot images and the XSLT style sheet is in the same folder as the RXLOG file.
If you have a pdf printer installed on the machine you can save the Report as PDF.
To do so open the RXLOG file on a machine where Ranorex is installed, click on it with the right mouse and select ‘print’. Select the pdf printer and save the Report on a location of your choice.

Saving a Report as Word document is unfortunately not possible.

Regards,
Bernhard
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

Kumar
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 12:12 pm

Re: Exporting Ranorex results

Post by Kumar » Mon Aug 06, 2012 1:27 pm

Thanks for your reply Bernhard!!!
It worked :) but the images in the PDF are not visible :(

Is there any way that we can customize the size of the image to be visible in the report? May the answer is No, but just wanted to check.

Thanks & Regards,
Kumar

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Exporting Ranorex results

Post by Support Team » Mon Aug 06, 2012 3:58 pm

Hello Kumar,

It is technically possible to set the size of the images. You have to copy the XSL file in the report folder and edit the following section
body, html, div, p, i, strong, table {color:#606060; }
img{border:0px;}
to
body, html, div, p, i, strong, table {color:#606060; }
img{border:0px; height:30px; width:30px}
After doing that, you have to go to the Test Suite settings in Ranorex Studio and select the new xsl file as 'Custom XSL File'.
The images should then have the defined size.

Regards,
Bernhard
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

Kumar
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 12:12 pm

Re: Exporting Ranorex results

Post by Kumar » Mon Aug 13, 2012 5:28 am

Hi Bernhard,

With the solution you had provided i was able to enlarge the image, but the quality was lost :( . The content was not clearly visible.



I followed the steps you had mentioned but used a different size.

Code: Select all

    body, html, div, p, i, strong, table {color:#606060; }  
    img{border:0px; height:500px; width:600px}  
Is there any other way we can achive this one?
Attachments
Report.JPG
Report
Report.JPG (90.51 KiB) Viewed 2057 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Exporting Ranorex results

Post by Support Team » Mon Aug 13, 2012 3:34 pm

Hello Kumar,

There is another possibility to enlarge the thumb image size via UserCode.
You have to create a new UserCode action at the beginning of your recording. Set the 'ThumbImageWidth' to a higher value.
Ranorex.Core.Reporting.TestReport.ThumbImageWidth = 300;


The quality should then be better in the pdf report.

Regards,
Bernhard
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

Kumar
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 12:12 pm

Re: Exporting Ranorex results

Post by Kumar » Wed Aug 15, 2012 2:06 pm

Thanks Bernhard, it works now :)

Code: Select all

Ranorex.Core.Reporting.TestReport.ThumbImageWidth = 300;  
Instead of adding the above code in every script. Can i put this on Program.cs or any place where this will be executed every time i run a script?

Thanks & Regards,
Kumar

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Exporting Ranorex results

Post by Support Team » Thu Aug 16, 2012 12:16 pm

Hello Kumar,

It is enough if you use this code in one recording, but if you disable the recording the code has no effect. However, you can use a separate recording at the beginning or you can also place this line into the try-block in the Program.cs file placed in front of the TestSuiteRunner.Run() call.

Regards,
Bernhard
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image