extra rxlog created after 4.0.3 installation

Ask general questions here.
mojohlic
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 4:37 pm

extra rxlog created after 4.0.3 installation

Post by mojohlic » Mon May 13, 2013 5:35 pm

After I installed the 4.0.3 installation another rxlog file is created when a script is executed. The report format is: %S_%Y%M%D_%T.rxlog

This other files has the following format: %S_XmlReport_%Y%M%D_%T.rxlog
sample: TestCase_XmlReport_20130513_121731.rxlog

and after the script is executed this report is opened. This report has a different format and I would like to have the old one to be open instead of this one. I don't have any custom reports I always use the default one.

Please help.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: extra rxlog created after 4.0.3 installation

Post by odklizec » Mon May 13, 2013 5:45 pm

Hi,

It's because the format of RX log file has been changed in RX 4.0...
Report files are now separated in a view (*.rxlog) and a data file (*.rxlog.data) -> change your code to use the data file for parsing reports on your own (XML format unchanged)
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

mojohlic
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 4:37 pm

Re: extra rxlog created after 4.0.3 installation

Post by mojohlic » Mon May 13, 2013 6:11 pm

I moved from 4.0.2 to 4.0.3 and I am using the ranorex studio. I had those files before. Can you please clarify? thanks :)

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: extra rxlog created after 4.0.3 installation

Post by odklizec » Tue May 14, 2013 9:17 am

Ah sorry! I somehow thought you moved from 3.x to 4.0.3 ;) The _XmlReport_ part in your report name is definitely weird. And creation of two rxlog files is strange too. Are you sure the other file is rxlog and not rxzlog (compressed rxlog)?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

mojohlic
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 4:37 pm

Re: extra rxlog created after 4.0.3 installation

Post by mojohlic » Tue May 14, 2013 5:13 pm

Thanks odklizec. Yes i am sure it is rxlog. I get 2 rxlog and 1 rxlog.data

05/13/2013 12:34 PM 8,330 TC_XmlReport_20130513_123251.rxlog
05/13/2013 12:34 PM 11,526TC_20130513_123251.rxlog.data
05/13/2013 12:34 PM 609,132 TC_20130513_123251.rxlog

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: extra rxlog created after 4.0.3 installation

Post by Support Team » Wed May 15, 2013 10:23 am

Hi,

Do you use the Report.Setup() method somewhere in code?
Is the "%S_XmlReport_%Y%M%D_%T.rxlog" format specified somewhere in code or in the Test Suite settings?
Could you please send or post the three report files? This would help us in order to analyze this issue in detail.

Thanks,
Markus
.
Image

mojohlic
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 4:37 pm

Re: extra rxlog created after 4.0.3 installation

Post by mojohlic » Wed May 15, 2013 2:35 pm

I don't use the report.setup() method anywhere in the code and that format is not specified anywhere in the code either. I am going to email you the reports.

Also I take the same code and I run it in another box with the test suite runner and I get the right reports.

mojohlic
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 4:37 pm

Re: extra rxlog created after 4.0.3 installation

Post by mojohlic » Wed May 15, 2013 4:12 pm

Also I noticed that after the execution the studio brings up the "good" report first and then flashes to the other one.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: extra rxlog created after 4.0.3 installation

Post by Support Team » Thu May 16, 2013 1:57 pm

Hello,

We have changed reporting in Ranorex 4.0.3.
If you try to call a method that uses report (e.g. Report.Info) before the Test Suite is initialized, an additional Report will be created with the old 2.x style.

Could you please check, if you are using our Report class somewhere in your code before the Test Suite is initialized?

Thank you in advance.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

mojohlic
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 4:37 pm

Re: extra rxlog created after 4.0.3 installation

Post by mojohlic » Thu May 16, 2013 2:57 pm

I do not use the Report class in my code before the test suite is initialized.
I opened the keepass sample from the installation and I selected the TC_OpenLoginAndClose deselecting the other ones and ran it. I get the same plain report. I uninstalled and reinstalled the studio and I still get the plain report.
Could it be a setting?

Thanks

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: extra rxlog created after 4.0.3 installation

Post by Support Team » Fri May 17, 2013 9:17 am

Hello,

This is a weird behavior.

Have you installed Ranorex using setup.exe in order to install all prerequisites of Ranorex?
Which Windows version do you use?
Could you please try to start Ranorex as Administrator?
Do you face the same issue if you try to run another sample (e.g. VIPWebTest)?

Thank you in advance.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

mojohlic
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 4:37 pm

Re: extra rxlog created after 4.0.3 installation

Post by mojohlic » Mon May 20, 2013 3:04 pm

Yes I installed ranorex using the setup.exe
I use window 7
I already tried using ranorex as administrator
I am going to try the other sample (vipwebtest)

mojohlic
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 4:37 pm

Re: extra rxlog created after 4.0.3 installation

Post by mojohlic » Mon May 20, 2013 9:36 pm

I uninstalled Ranorex, went through the whole HD and deleted every file I could find. Installed it back and opened my project. Executed and it worked. I guess it was something but It is working now. :D

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: extra rxlog created after 4.0.3 installation

Post by Support Team » Tue May 21, 2013 9:09 am

Hello,

Thank you for your information.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image