FEATURE REQUEST:allow Ranorex to use multiple lic. servers

Bug reports.
User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3944
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

FEATURE REQUEST:allow Ranorex to use multiple lic. servers

Post by odklizec » Wed Nov 06, 2013 2:59 pm

Hi,

Would it be possible to allow Ranorex to work with multiple license servers? Here is the use case when such functionality would be quite useful.

Our company bought multiple floating licenses. They are all installed on our HQ server in Germany. But from time to time, the license server becomes unavailable (due to internet or server problems) and so the scheduled tests may not start or get interrupted. So I thought about the possibility to install at least one floating runtime license on our local server, just in case of internet/server problems. But as far as I know, there is currently no way to configure Ranorex licensing to search for available license on multiple servers? Would it be possible to add such functionality?

Thank you for considering this request! ;)
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: FEATURE REQUEST:allow Ranorex to use multiple lic. servers

Post by Support Team » Thu Nov 07, 2013 2:50 pm

Hi,
odklizec wrote:Would it be possible to allow Ranorex to work with multiple license servers? Here is the use case when such functionality would be quite useful.
I will add an internal feature request for your issue.
odklizec wrote:due to internet or server problems) and so the scheduled tests may not start or get interrupted
As a workaround you could take a look to following API method http://www.ranorex.com/Documentation/Ra ... ense_1.htm

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3944
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: FEATURE REQUEST:allow Ranorex to use multiple lic. servers

Post by odklizec » Thu Nov 07, 2013 6:28 pm

Hi Peter and thanks for the answer. Yes, we are already using WaitForValidLicense in our projects.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration