FEATURE REQUEST: WaitForValidLicense extension

Bug reports.
User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3932
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

FEATURE REQUEST: WaitForValidLicense extension

Post by odklizec » Fri Aug 16, 2013 3:32 pm

Hi,

Would it be possible to extend the WaitForValidLicense method with a parameter, which would make the Ranorex to wait/ignore a specific license or licenses (e.g. limit the license use just to Runtime and Professional and ignore Premium)?

Use case:
Currently, we are using one floating Runtime and one floating Premium. Our test scripts use WaitForValidLicense to wait for an available license. If both Runtime and Premium is in use, test runner waits for first available license to start the scheduled/queued test. Now let's say I close the Ranorex Studio, test runner takes just released Premium license and use it for running test, which actually locks me from using Studio, until the test is finished. Therefore, it would be useful to be able to limit the license use from the test code.

In a near future, we are most probably going to buy some more Runtime and also Pro/Premium licenses. But I would still like to prevent the test runner to use the Premium licenses and allow to use just Runtime and Pro for running the tests.

Thanks for the consideration!
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: FEATURE REQUEST: WaitForValidLicense extension

Post by krstcs » Fri Aug 16, 2013 3:48 pm

+1

This is an excellent point.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: FEATURE REQUEST: WaitForValidLicense extension

Post by Support Team » Sat Aug 17, 2013 10:40 pm

This feature already kind of exists, even if not from code:
Just change the floating license type configured on the runtime machine to "Runtime" (instead of "Auto") using the Ranorex Licensing Tool (see this section in the user guide). Then only Runtime licenses will be acquired.

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team
.
Image

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3932
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: FEATURE REQUEST: WaitForValidLicense extension

Post by odklizec » Mon Aug 19, 2013 7:45 am

Thanks for the tip Alex! It could be a perfect solution of my problem ;) I will keep you informed.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: FEATURE REQUEST: WaitForValidLicense extension

Post by krstcs » Tue Aug 20, 2013 1:50 pm

Ahh!! Learn something new every day...

Thanks Alex!
Shortcuts usually aren't...