FF add-on causes issues with 'back' command

Bug reports.
User avatar
Aracknid
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 3:23 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

FF add-on causes issues with 'back' command

Post by Aracknid » Wed Apr 11, 2018 10:32 pm

When I use firefox (currently using 52.7.3 ESR) and I click on OUR back button in the browser window (not the browsers own back button), it doesn't work as expected. The underlying code in our app is trying to execute the following code: window.frames[0].history.go(-1)

If I disable the Ranorex add-on, it works properly.

Unfortunately, you cannot use the browsers own back button to work around this as it kills the session.

I'm using Ranorex 8.1 and the latest 1.1.0 add-in for FF. Note that it also did not work with Ranorex 7.2 and the older add-in for that as well (I think it was 1.0.33). On Windows 10.

Aracknid

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: FF add-on causes issues with 'back' command

Post by Support Team » Tue Apr 17, 2018 1:59 pm

Hello Aracknid,

I tried to reproduce the issue you described with the latest version of Ranorex (8.1.1). The latest Firefox plug-in has the number 1.1.3. Would you mind running the instrumentation Wizard again?
This is the script I am using on my website. It also works when the Ranorex plug-in is enabled in Firefox ESR 52.7.3.
<script>
function goBack() {
    window.history.go(-1);
}
</script>
Is your back button implemented inside an iframe?

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

User avatar
Aracknid
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 3:23 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Re: FF add-on causes issues with 'back' command

Post by Aracknid » Tue Apr 17, 2018 2:51 pm

I'm unable to try this out at the moment, but to answer your question, yes it is in an iframe, and note that your test didn't include the "frames[0]" part of the javascript. I've included an illustration of what is happening.
Back issue in FF.png
Back issue in FF.png (18.6 KiB) Viewed 259 times
Aracknid

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: FF add-on causes issues with 'back' command

Post by Support Team » Tue Apr 17, 2018 4:08 pm

Hi Aracknid,

I tried to implement my sample website as you described, but the code you are using doesn't work with and without the Ranorex add-on enabled.

This is the HTML code I use
<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
<body>

<div>
<button onclick="goBack()">Go 1 pages back</button>
</div>

<iframe src="http://www.ranorex.com" width="400" height="600" ></iframe>
<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
<body>

<script>
function goBack() {
    window.frames[0].history.go(-1);
}
</script>

</body>
</html>
</iframe>

</body>
</html>
</html>
If I remove frames[0], it works as expected. Please let me know how to change my code in order to reproduce the issue.

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

User avatar
Aracknid
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 3:23 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Re: FF add-on causes issues with 'back' command

Post by Aracknid » Tue Apr 17, 2018 4:27 pm

It's probably more complicated than what I provided. Would you like to jump into a remote session and have access to my environment?

Aracknid

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: FF add-on causes issues with 'back' command

Post by Support Team » Wed Apr 18, 2018 1:49 pm

Hello Aracknid,

Yes, that would be possible. Would you mind creating a support query on our website, so that we can clarify the details offline?
Support Query: https://www.ranorex.com/support-query/

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: FF add-on causes issues with 'back' command

Post by Support Team » Thu Jun 14, 2018 2:45 pm

Update: This issue is fixed and will be in the upcoming 8.2 release!

Cheers,
Ned
.
Image

User avatar
Aracknid
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 3:23 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Re: FF add-on causes issues with 'back' command

Post by Aracknid » Thu Jul 05, 2018 9:16 pm

I just installed Ranorex 8.2 which comes with FF add-on 1.1.5 and I can report that everything is fine now.

Aracknid

ahoisl
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 8:16 am

Re: FF add-on causes issues with 'back' command

Post by ahoisl » Thu Jul 05, 2018 9:18 pm

Thank you for reporting back!

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team