FindFromPoint call doesn't work with runtime license

Bug reports.
NitschkeR
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:15 pm

FindFromPoint call doesn't work with runtime license

Post by NitschkeR » Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:38 pm

With Ranorex 4.1.2.16100 calling Host.Local.Element.FindFromPoint doesn't work on PC with Ranorex runtime license only. On the development PC the test calling this function is working fine, but on the test machine a Ranorex dialog is shown requesting a Developer license.
When I disable the call of 'FindFromPoint' in the test, execution on test machine is fine.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: FindFromPoint call doesn't work with runtime license

Post by Support Team » Tue Dec 03, 2013 11:36 am

Hello,

That is correct.
Unfortunately, the usage of the method Host.Local.Element.FindFromPoint requires at least a Developer license.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

NitschkeR
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:15 pm

Re: FindFromPoint call doesn't work with runtime license

Post by NitschkeR » Tue Dec 03, 2013 2:48 pm

Hi, is this now the end of the story? For me this is a bug.
I expect that I can run any Ranorex test script I compiled on my development machine with a Developer license on the test machine with a Runtime license.
With Ranorex 2.0 method Host.Local.Element.FindFromPoint worked fine with a Runtime license and I expect same behavior with Ranorex 4.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: FindFromPoint call doesn't work with runtime license

Post by Support Team » Mon Dec 09, 2013 4:00 pm

Hello,

You should have already received an email from Christoph.

We have changed our license model since Ranorex 3.3 in such a way that a developer license is required for API method calls (e.g. FindFromPoint) which are needed to develop tests.

Thank you for your understanding.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image