Firefox plugin not recognized by Ranorex studio?

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Firefox plugin not recognized by Ranorex studio?

Post by odklizec » Fri Dec 15, 2017 3:37 pm

OK, I was able to fix the problem by installing full Firefox on my laptop (along with the portable version) and this step fixed also Ranorex plugin in portable version! So I guess FF installation added something to registry, which is missing in case of FF portable? And no, it was most probably no path to FF in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\App Paths\firefox.exe, because I already added this key before installing full version of FF. So there must be another registry (something else), which Ranorex plugin depends on?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Sundaytwins
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 2:55 pm

Re: Firefox plugin not recognized by Ranorex studio?

Post by Sundaytwins » Mon Dec 18, 2017 1:30 pm

Hi Pavlev,

I'm awaiting reaction to my support ticket. I'm bound to the restrictions of the company.
I'm not able to 'just' re-install software. And i'm getting pretty frustrated about the problem i have with Ranorex.

If this ticket is not taken up before end of this week, I'll probably advise my client to stop paying for the license.
The amount of work spent in this has already surpassed multiple times the cost of the license.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Firefox plugin not recognized by Ranorex studio?

Post by Support Team » Wed Jan 03, 2018 4:12 pm

Hi all,

The problem in this case is that the customer is using a custom build of Firefox 52 ESR.

In general, the following registry key have to be set.
RegEdit.png
RegEdit.png (11.2 KiB) Viewed 376 times
Usually, this key will be set during the installation of Firefox, but in some cases you have to set it manually.

Best regards,
Matthias
Ranorex Team
.
Image

Sundaytwins
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 2:55 pm

Re: Firefox plugin not recognized by Ranorex studio?

Post by Sundaytwins » Mon Jan 08, 2018 2:30 pm

Unfortunate,

Setting the key manually did not solve the problem either.

:-(