Firefox recognition problem with Ranorex 5.1.3

Ask general questions here.
rastek
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 12:00 pm

Firefox recognition problem with Ranorex 5.1.3

Post by rastek » Fri Jan 16, 2015 2:30 pm

Hi
I just installed Ranorex 5.1.3.19973 and installed Ranorex plugin again for Firefox but get these errors in separate dialogs

TypeError: rxAutomation3 is undefined

Ranorex Error:TypeError: Components.classes[cid] is undefined

I was not able to use Ranorex with Safari before that also but I tought maybe problems will be solved after new versions.

Is there any workaround for this ? How can I get work Ranorex on Safari browser ?

Thanks,
Rastek.

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Firefox recognition problem with Ranorex 5.1.3

Post by krstcs » Fri Jan 16, 2015 2:44 pm

The newest version of Ranorex is 5.2.2. You can download it here.

Try a clean re-install with the newest version and see if that helps.

1. Uninstall Ranorex.
2. Reboot.
3. Install Ranorex 5.2.2 from EXE.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

rastek
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 12:00 pm

Re: Firefox recognition problem with Ranorex 5.1.3

Post by rastek » Wed Jan 21, 2015 9:09 am

I am using Ranorex with Testshell and Testshell supports 5.1.3 officially, so I need to use 5.1.3

So you mean Ranorex 5.1.3 does not supportt firefox ?

I need to find and fix real cause of the firefox problem instead of someone forwarding me to download latest version as a solution.

Thanks,

Rastek.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3945
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Firefox recognition problem with Ranorex 5.1.3

Post by odklizec » Wed Jan 21, 2015 9:55 am

Hi,

What version of Firefox do you use? This is important piece of information to be able to provide you with better help.

Ranorex 5.1.3 supports Firefox up to version 33. If you are using Firefox 34, you need to install at least Ranorex 5.2.1. For Firefox 35 you need Ranorex 5.2.2. There is no way around. If you need support for newest FF versions, you need to upgrade to newest Ranorex version.

Also, keep in mind that too old Firefox versions (those no longer supported by Mozilla) may no longer be supported by Ranorex as well! Check this post...
http://www.ranorex.com/forum/ranorex-fi ... tml#p17662

And final suggestion, this error is not generated by Ranorex but by Firefox itslef. So there may be a problem with Ranorex extension installation. Please follow the suggestions from this post...
http://www.ranorex.com/forum/components ... tml#p19585

Hope this helps?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration