Flash

Ask general questions here.
Schifty
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 11:20 am

Flash

Post by Schifty » Mon Sep 17, 2012 12:12 pm

Hello,

I'm not quite sure how to test my flash game (60 employees) with your tool. I attached a picture of Ranorex Spy. You will notice that the buttons lack of data. I can't really test anything, because all I can do is click some buttons - how do I validate the result of my test? I tried your tool with Java once, the amount of information displayed was quite more useful (therefore you could evaluate the functionality of the application) . Did I do something wrong? I run my application within firefox - preloader and flash dbg are running.


The Recorder does not work in FF and IE - only the main window is recognized, but not the buttons themselves. The Recorder does a better job with Chrome but fails to recognize single buttons in combination with multiple layers of images.




Schifty
Attachments
ranorexOutput.JPG
ranorexOutput.JPG (153.72 KiB) Viewed 887 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Flash

Post by Support Team » Mon Sep 17, 2012 4:30 pm

Hi,

In order to analyze the issue it would help us if you could post a Ranorex snapshot file of your flex application.
If you want you can directly send it to our support email address: [email protected].

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

Schifty
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 11:20 am

Re: Flash

Post by Schifty » Mon Sep 17, 2012 4:52 pm

What kind of information are stored within a snapshot? (legal issues)
Does the screenshot even look like everything is ok?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Flash

Post by Support Team » Tue Sep 18, 2012 12:48 pm

Hi,

A Ranorex snapshot shows us the structure and the details of your UI elements and it allows us to analyze them it detail, here is a link to the corresponding UserGuide section: Creating Ranorex Snapshot Files.
As I mentioned, you can also send it per mail.
No, the screenshot doesn't look like everything is okay, it looks like flash/flex wasn't correctly instrumented.
Did you really instrument it as mentioned on the following link? Adobe Flash/Flex
Which Ranorex version are you using?

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

Schifty
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 11:20 am

Re: Flash

Post by Schifty » Wed Sep 19, 2012 11:00 am

Support Team wrote: No, the screenshot doesn't look like everything is okay, it looks like flash/flex wasn't correctly instrumented.
I removed and installed your trial again - now it's recognizing all elements correctly - the spy looks good so far.



1)
The record tool however is still not capable of recognizing elements. Only the main window is highlighted.
We are using Stage3D and multiple SWFs within one single application - do you have experience with that?

2)
Is there a reasonable way to do stress testing with 50 available machines within a network?

That would include starting game clients and running test scripts on each machine
- coordination from a single machine would be nice.

Is there anything you have done, that is similar to that?

3)
We could provide a snapshot if you need one. -Well it looks like the size of our zipped snapshot is 11mb and therefore it is rejected by your E-Mail System.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Flash

Post by Support Team » Thu Sep 20, 2012 4:22 pm

Hello,

Which version of the .NET Framework is installed? Ranorex needs the .NET Framework 4.0 Extended/full package. Please install this package and try it again.

Regarding your question about server stress testing I recommend using Microsoft Task Scheduler to start a test on each machine at the same time. But if you want to run the test on 50 machines at the same time, you will need one license for each machine.

Regards,
Bernhard
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image