Floating License not working with Ranorex v6.0.2

Bug reports.
EDR_CB
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 8:32 am

Floating License not working with Ranorex v6.0.2

Post by EDR_CB » Thu Sep 01, 2016 10:30 am

Dear all,

i've recently upgraded from Ranorex v5.4 to v6.0.2 (kudos for the new design by the way!).

We have a floating license here, that allows 3 people to connect simultaneously to Ranorex.

Since we've upgrade to v6.0.2, only one person can use Ranorex at the time.

If somebody else tries to connect, he will get the following error message :


The License Manager 'XXX.XX.XX.XXX' was contacted, but no suitable license was available. Please add additional licenses to your License Manager or wait until licenses become available.

Do you want to change the licensing configuration now?


Thank you in advance for you help.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3946
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: App get crashed while tap on element in iOS Instrumented app

Post by odklizec » Thu Sep 01, 2016 10:54 am

Hi,

Single floating license never allowed simultaneous use of multiple Ranorex instances at the same time! One floating license simply allows one user to use Ranorex at multiple computers, but always only one at a time. Please make sure what is the actual status of your Ranorex licenses (how many of them you have and what's their expiration date).
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

EDR_CB
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 8:32 am

Re: Floating License not working with Ranorex v6.0.2

Post by EDR_CB » Thu Sep 01, 2016 11:11 am

Hi odklizec,

i've checked and we have 3 Premium floating licenses.

So technically we should be able to connect at least two people at the time on the v6.0.2.

Any ideas ? Is this related to this issue :

http://www.ranorex.com/forum/post39427. ... nse#p39427

or is it something else ?

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Floating License not working with Ranorex v6.0.2

Post by krstcs » Thu Sep 01, 2016 1:17 pm

Which Ranorex License Server (LS) version are you using?

Note that LS 6.0.2 has a serious bug and has been downgraded to version 6.0.1. If you are using LS 6.0.2, you should uninstall it and install LS 6.0.1 instead.

Also, I'm not sure how well LS 5.4.X will work with Ranorex Studio 6.0.2, so if you are still on LS 5.4.X, you should upgrade to LS 6.0.1.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3946
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Floating License not working with Ranorex v6.0.2

Post by odklizec » Fri Sep 02, 2016 7:56 am

Hi,

Another possibility is, that two of your 3 licenses are no longer valid for 6.0.2? Are you sure all three licenses have the same expiration date (purchased at the same time)?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration