Floating Licenses

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
BSullivan
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 6:31 pm
Location: HorseHeads NY
Contact:

Floating Licenses

Post by BSullivan » Tue Feb 20, 2018 9:45 pm

Is there a way to prevent test executions from leasing Premium Floating Licenses?

In our case, we have some of each type of floating license and only 1 Premium License per user, so if one test runs long, or gets hung up and a new one starts, it leases a premium license type and we have a user that cannot use Ranorex until the issue is addressed.

Is there some workaround for this? I have looked around in the documentation and the License Manager, but so far no luck.

Thanks in advance!

ahoisl
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 8:16 am

Re: Floating Licenses

Post by ahoisl » Tue Feb 20, 2018 10:56 pm

BSullivan wrote:Is there a way to prevent test executions from leasing Premium Floating Licenses?
If you execute your tests on a specific machine, you can set that machine to only lease Runtime Floating licenses. On that machine, run the Ranorex Licensing Tool and set the "Type" for floating licenses to "Runtime" (instead of the default "Auto"), see here for more documentation.

I guess you could do the same somehow using the Ranorex API for some test execution, but I would have to look that up :D

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team

BSullivan
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 6:31 pm
Location: HorseHeads NY
Contact:

Re: Floating Licenses

Post by BSullivan » Wed Feb 21, 2018 7:09 pm

Awesome. Thank you!!

I guess I overlooked that part. I must need more coffee.