GDI issue on Windows 10 VM

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
coertmetz
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 4:18 pm

GDI issue on Windows 10 VM

Post by coertmetz » Wed Jul 12, 2017 4:21 pm

When we try to run tests using GDI capture on a Windows 10 VM we get the following error message:
"[Warn ][GDI]: Failed to instrument application: Failed to retrieve handle to bootstrapper library."

This causes the tests to fail.

Is there a way to solve this issue?

Ranorex 7.1.0
Windows 10

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: GDI issue on Windows 10 VM

Post by Support Team » Thu Jul 13, 2017 12:41 pm

Hello coertmetz,

Welcome to the Ranorex forum!

I'm afraid we are not aware of such an issue in the latest version of Ranorex. I would suggest contacting [email protected] directly in order we can analyze this issue in detail.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,
Johannes
.
Image

coertmetz
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 4:18 pm

Re: GDI issue on Windows 10 VM

Post by coertmetz » Thu Jul 13, 2017 1:15 pm

We discovered that MSBuild could not find the .net framework. We were able to fix this which made the warning disappear. However, GDI raw text support is still not working, even though it has been enabled for the GUI element we want to track.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: GDI issue on Windows 10 VM

Post by Support Team » Fri Jul 14, 2017 12:23 pm

Hello coertmetz,

Did GDI raw text recognition for this UI element work in previous versions of Ranorex? It would be great if you could get in touch with us by email. Probably we need to schedule a short remote session in order to analyze the issue.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,
Johannes
.
Image

jbeeson
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 1:40 am

Re: GDI issue on Windows 10 VM

Post by jbeeson » Thu Oct 26, 2017 11:38 pm

Any more information on this issue? I emailed support about the same thing but they haven't been able to figure it out.

BSullivan
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 6:31 pm
Location: HorseHeads NY
Contact:

Re: GDI issue on Windows 10 VM

Post by BSullivan » Fri Oct 27, 2017 8:06 pm

I had this issue a little while ago.

It seemed like a windows update caused it, but I am not quite sure. I do know it happened just after the VM "automatically updated" to the Creators Update and it was flaky from that point on until I had the time to try and fix it.

To fix it I did the following:
1. Uninstall Ranorex
2. Turn off the 3.5 .NET Framework components in the control panel
3. Restart the VM
4. Turn the 3.5 framework back on
5. Reinstall Ranorex

I don't know if this is the only solution, but it worked for me.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: GDI issue on Windows 10 VM

Post by Support Team » Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:37 pm

jbeeson wrote:Any more information on this issue? I emailed support about the same thing but they haven't been able to figure it out.
Hello Jbeeson,

Regarding your support case, it appears we have not received a response with the requested debug/log files from your colleague's machine. Please provide these files at your earliest convenience to assist with debugging this issue. Thank you in advance!

Cheers,
Ned
.
Image

andrei_t
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 2:01 pm

Re: GDI issue on Windows 10 VM

Post by andrei_t » Mon Dec 11, 2017 4:51 pm

We had the same problem and the solution from BSullivan worked like a charm for us.
In our case the .Net 3.5 Framework was completely turned off in favor of the 4.7 one, so the only difference was that we didn't have to turn the 3.5 Framework off.