GDI/Legacy item recognition changed

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
nico
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 3:13 pm

GDI/Legacy item recognition changed

Post by nico » Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:13 pm

I used to the GDI plugin when automating certain test that use Outlook 2007.

A few weeks later I want to run my test and all of a sudden, the items don't get recognized anymore. When I use the RanorexSpy, I can identify the item (rawtext).

What could have caused this and what can be done to prevent this from happening?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: GDI/Legacy item recognition changed

Post by odklizec » Thu Dec 03, 2015 9:09 am

Hi,

There is not enough information in your post, so our chances to provide you with a reliable answer are very thin ;) Please answer the below questions:
- your Ranorex version (latest and greatest is 5.4.4)
- your OS version?
- please post the exact error you are getting (ideally, entire report file)
- please post the Ranorex snapshot of your app (with enabled GDI)
- do you run your test on the same machine as before?
- have you tried to run your tests on different machine?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

nico
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 3:13 pm

Re: GDI/Legacy item recognition changed

Post by nico » Fri Dec 04, 2015 7:51 am

Ranorex 5.4.1
Windows Server 2008

Application under test is MS Outlook 2007.

Also I noticed that if I use the Ranorex Spy to and select that item, it works but within a few seconds, it selects a different item, not the item I have selected.

I will provide some screenshots/error reports etc.., later today, when I have the chance to talk to test developer in my team.

The snapshot of the item, taken from the RanorexSpy.
ObjectSnapshot.rxsnp
(170.74 KiB) Downloaded 45 times
This the item and the item made variable that dont work anymore.
Objects.PNG
Objects.PNG (2.77 KiB) Viewed 734 times
This the edit of the item. Which RanorexSpy can't find.
ObjectsDetail.PNG
ObjectsDetail.PNG (33.27 KiB) Viewed 734 times
But when I track the item, no problem.
ObjectTree.PNG
ObjectTree.PNG (16.26 KiB) Viewed 734 times
Note from Support: Edited and merged posts

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: GDI/Legacy item recognition changed

Post by odklizec » Fri Dec 04, 2015 12:42 pm

Thanks for the details.

Apparently, there are no rawtexts created under the element 4704, in which you expect to find the given rawtext. At least they are not created in snapshot? So it's really weird why they are found in spy.

I would suggest to try the latest Ranorex version (5.4.4), but I don't think there were done some changes related to GDI Capture List recently? Another thing you might try is to right click the element 4704 and add its class name to the GDI Capture List. This should instruct Ranorex to create rawtexts specifically for this supergrid element. Hope this helps?
Attachments
rawtext.png
rawtext.png (71.32 KiB) Viewed 727 times
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

nico
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 3:13 pm

Re: GDI/Legacy item recognition changed

Post by nico » Tue Dec 08, 2015 10:51 am

Supergrid element 4704 is already added to the GDI Capture List.

Plus I did work last time we tried.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: GDI/Legacy item recognition changed

Post by odklizec » Tue Dec 08, 2015 10:55 am

Too bad. Unfortunately, the GDI capture list is not very reliable way to automate GUI. I would recommend to use it only as a last resort and only for very simple elements.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration